Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

New Prop / Proplock design - Inspire 1 Pro

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Paul Joy, Sep 26, 2015.

  1. Paul Joy

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    54
    Looks like the Inspire 1 Pro is sporting a new prop / prop lock design as well. See them in operation at 4:50 in the video.

     
    Lesmess likes this.
  2. JoeyJoe

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    South Florida
    I wonder if that is a better locking method.
     
  3. ovisopa

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    19
    It does look more solid than the standard quick release sistem, if it's better or not we will see. In my opinion the standard quick release mechanism is not better than self tighten props with prop lock new_proplock_mechanism_dji_inspire_pro.jpg
     
    Lesmess likes this.
  4. Machoman

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    69
    My first thought would be they did it to make it harder for 3rd party propellers - however from the picture it cannot be seen if it is harder to remove and replace this system.
     
  5. ovisopa

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    19
    The new sistem it seems to be mounted the same as the standard quick release sistem, with just 2 screws.
     
  6. Lesmess

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    29
    4th update in less than a year? DJI did you have to do this because of the extra weight of the camera platform? Why would you change the design if you have no reason too? Explanation please DJI.
     
  7. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Nope - the Inspire is rated to a payload of 3.5 kg on the original threaded props. That has been the spec since the release of the platform.
     
    Lesmess likes this.
  8. Lesmess

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    29
    So whats your thoughts on why they DJI believe it was necessary to develop a new prop design and mounting system? This is taking continues improvement to a new level. Hopefully DJI will offer some explanation. I know you have invested quite a bit on the screw on prop system, I have eight sets of QR props and motor mounts waiting to be used and one set on the bird that has done 126 flights. Now whilst I am happy using the QR system with my inspection and maintenance system, if DLI state this is there preferred prop and mount system then I will probably purchase a few sets. It just seems to me that DJI must have niggling doubts on the two current systems. Why would you invest design time, new tooling etc if you are 100% happy with the two current systems? Or are they just reacting to peoples insecurities with the current mounting systems available. I will be upgrading the camera to a Zenmuse X5 unit with the Oly 12mm lens so I will have a flying platform worth in excess of £3500 so yes I'm a wee bit concerned DJI have decided to completely re-design the props and mounting system.
     
  9. polylawman

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    19
    Why does everything DJI does to improve things have to be some type of conspiracy to many folks. So they improved the prop locks. Be thankful there is a now a new and improved design. At least they are still working to improve some of the parts and pieces of the Inspire. If you don't like it, stay with the original, but spare the rest of us your negativity about everything DJI does!!!
     
    Mike Walker likes this.
  10. Lesmess

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    29
    Who says its an improvement! That's entirely the point. We now have three systems for attaching your props from DJI. Why, that all I ask, don't think there is any negativity in that. Don't dictate to me what I can post on this site!
     
  11. JohnHan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    23
    Sure looks more sturdy to me. The new one is purpose built to be a QR type system. The old QR system was built to be "adapted" to an existing screw-on design that was already out in the wild. The thicker center lug and thicker/taller outer lugs look like they would stand up to more twisting than the puny little pill-bottle lugs that I have on my non-pro Inspire. Just my first impression upon seeing that photo.
     
  12. gray52

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    52
    3 sets of props for the dealers to stock, lol.
     
  13. Ward Paterson

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    88
    This looks better, but makes me wonder what the innards of the prop looks like that clamps down to the hub..

    Either way, with the added weight of the X5 and probably bigger battery?, a new design was definitely required
     
  14. RCblog.nl

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  15. FlyHighUSA

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Munfordville Ky
    Hello all, I have the Inspire Pro and I love the new prop lock design. With the other QR design there is a small amount of play on brand new machines. This design is much better and seems much stronger and stable. There is a very minimal if no play at all. Time will tell how they hold up. Yes there are a lot of changes but this is the industry and it will always be that way. Some changes are great some not so great. I am hopeful that the new design will further cut down on vibrations sent from the motor/prop to the body and on to the camera. I measure all of my machines vibration levels when I get them stock. This Pro's level is about 45 percent less the Inspire 1 with x3 and old QR design.The proof is in two things, time (durability) and quality of video. Now we just need to be able to order them. Just in case.
     
    Mike Walker likes this.
  16. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    354
    Am I just lucky that I never saw any vibration showing up in my I1-X3 videos? And my flying buddy with his I1 is coincidently just as lucky?
    No matter what props I use, the QR's or ST's, never balanced them for that matter.

    The I1 doesn't produce vibrations the gimbal can't handle, at least our 2 I1's don't.

    edit; however, if I would suffer from excessive vibration in such a way that it showed up in my video I would send it to DJI. There's no way I would live with that.
     
    #16 lake_flyer, Oct 22, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2015
  17. FlyHighUSA

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Munfordville Ky
    Some people do get vibration issues, I by no means am saying anything proven or conclusive. I only know that the vibration meter dropped significantly. Anytime you can reduce any vibrations, do it . It only serves to improve the end result that I'm sure you as I want the best video quality possible. Any serious aerial film maker always balance there props. I post comments and information for information purposes only. I just try to help people as I have seen the time I myself needed help. As for your question are you and your flying buddy lucky? Most definitely!!! I'm glad it works for you.

    Best Regards,
    Ralph
     
  18. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    354
    You got me there. I can only agree with that.
    When you would need to crop obviously the vibrations would be more of a problem. I guess you just convinced me that I should go balance my props, it doesn't hurt after all.
    It's just that I have not experienced the Inspire1 to be vibrating at all so far.
     
  19. chris101

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,
    Does anybody know when or where these can be bought for the "old" Inspire 1?
    Best regards,
    Christian
     
  20. atomic80

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm wondering the same thing too!