Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

New to POST: Audio for your video

Reaction score
Hello.

I am new to the entire POST process as a whole. Unfortunately, I do not have experience with photography as many others have had, when editing video footage. Therefore, it is a whole new experience for me. I didn't want to cover general editing workflow or tips in this thread, but rather I wanted to focus the topic on sounds.

The Inspire 1 doesn't record audio, therefore I cannot get away with pushing a video to YouTube with random rotor noise (not like I would be able to get away with it anyways, as most would stop watching anyhow). Hence, I have to mate an audio track to the video footage. It sounds simple enough, but as an inexperienced editor - it is very intimidating to me. Coming from a non-artistic background, I am lost on the selection, application, and general usage.

I was hoping those experienced in this area could post some of their thoughts, tips, or general advice. It seems like audio is often overlooked or given a lesser priority to video editing, yet I feel the sound is what glues the entire footage together and either makes or kills a video. Hence, I am looking for advice from those knowledgeable in this area.

Some initial questions:
- Where to get the music?
(free sites like freemusicarchive.org, freestockmusic.com, etc) or what paid libraries?
- Tips for Transitions/Loop when one song isn't long enough for the video footage?
- Tips for matching the songs to video clips/scene transitions?
- Links to additional information or thoughts on the subject?

Thanks,
Mike

premiumbeat.com for my money gives the best value for stock music tracks. The beauty of it is pretty much all tracks come with both a full set of loops as well as 15, 30 and 60 second versions of the song, so they are quite easy to customize for length and builds.
Audiojungle is pretty solid as well and they are cheaper.