Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Not so stable in wind gusts...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ale Reynoso, Feb 15, 2016.

  1. Ale Reynoso

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi:
    I have been flying a Phantom 2 for a while. Fantastic machine. Very stable in all kind of conditions. When in GPS, would hold its position very well
    Then we bought an Inspire 1. Totally different behavior with wind guts: it drifts. May be downwind a little, or upwind. It even changes altitude (always in P-GPS). It´s seems to have a lack of reaction.
    Trying to move slowly is almost impossible to make a straight path (when in speed it´s very stable).
    Wich are the basic parameters to help with this? Is a software issue or a design one?
    Best regards!
     
  2. DavidB

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    57
    Like you, I have flown a Phantom 2 and Inspire 1 and my experience is not the same as yours. The I1 is far more stable than my Phantom 2 in all conditions. It may seem obvious but have you done an advanced IMU Calibration on the I1?
     
    #2 DavidB, Feb 15, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2016
  3. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I think you gave him good advice. I had the same with my Inspire Pro and I couldn't get it to fly straight or level. I did the calibration and its much better. Actually it must be better as i haven't noticed it since.
     
  4. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    You need to adjust the braking values with higher winds. 80 is fine in calm conditions but 100+ is required above 8 m/s to avoid wind drift. It is unlikely to have anything to do with calibration.
     
    Osman Alsamani and slim.slamma like this.
  5. Ale Reynoso

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you!
    I´m running the latest firmware and DJI GO app in an i-pad mini 2. There is not advanced IMU calibration. Only IMU calibration. It takes some time, so it must be an advanced IMU calibration I think. I tried this a couple of times and my brakes parameter is 115. Anyway the Inspire feels really erratical. As it would be in ATTI, but with 10-12 satellites.
    With no so powerfull winds, but blowing in guts, the drone could drift in a way or another and even change altitude...Really lost.
     
  6. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    You need to do an advanced IMU calibration. The thing brakes fast already when you first get it. Most of us already have the P3 so we know what the Inspire is meant to do. I dont think you have a problem machine.. it just needs the calibration.
    You say blowing in gusts but how strong are the gusts? 40Knots? The Inspire is more stable than a P3.
     
  7. Ale Reynoso

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    As I see it, brakes apply when you suddenly leave the sticks centered coming from a movement, but the Inspire does not brake when a gust of wind moves it. It seems that does not react to this. I have to correct the position as if I would be in ATTI. But it is in P-GPS and holds position, but with a very wide range (can drift several meters until it stops)
     
  8. Ale Reynoso

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    And as I said, there is not an advanced IMU cal. Only IMU cal.
    ¿?
     
  9. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Oh God.... Thats not right.
     
  10. Ale Reynoso

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    wind speed was alway way under 20 knots (miles per hour I think)
     
  11. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Thats a pretty hefty wind but have you tested it in calm conditions?
     
  12. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    How about having a look at this. I hope it helps.
     
  13. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    I have noticed the Inspire drifting a lot in wind. Even with braking at default, I am surprised by the amount of drift. It allows itself to get pushed by the wind to a certain degree. It seems to be by design for unknown reasons.

    As for IMU, it is unlikely to be a driving factor here. If you haven't done a reliable IMU calibration, by all means do it. Once done, it shouldn't need touching again (unless you crash). That should rule out the IMU as a factor. Mine is calibrated perfectly and the Inspire still gets pushed a certain amount in the wind.
     
  14. Ale Reynoso

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Tested in calm conditions. Seems to hold position better than with wind. Not close to the Phantom (would this be because of less inertia in a smaller drone?).
    Runned the IMU cal. again. Haven´t noticed any significant better behavior. I will test more. But with wind and working close to objects, it´s a nerves breaking machine
    Thank you!
     
  15. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Somethings not right and I would take it back.
     
  16. Ale Reynoso

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Searching the forums i found that for fw 1.6, "wind compensation" was disabled. That still worked on 1.5 but not any more. This makes the behavior logical?
    Can someone confirm this?
    Would I get a better performance regarding wind stability if I go back to 1.5?
     
  17. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Im sorry I cant help. My Inspire is fine so there must be something wrong with yours. It should hold stable.
     
  18. Mje

    Mje

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well I had my Inspire1 in winds of
    28 - 30 kph winds on a beach and held very well .. Not well for me as I was getting push with those winds ..lol
     
  19. Ale Reynoso

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think it can handle strong winds. My problem is that it becomes very erratical. i.e. hovering in one place and start to slowly move in a straight line... impossible. And the landing in a small area is a nightmare with wind.
     
  20. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    I think that is a bad assessment. Many people have reported this problem.
     
    mabnz likes this.