Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Object tracking

Discussion in 'DJI Go App' started by PhantomKid, Jan 22, 2015.

  1. PhantomKid

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    4
    Has anyone tried following an object, like a car, with the camera using your finger on the screen ?

    I thought it might be easy and a really useful tool but it doesn't really react like I expected it too.

    I was hoping to just keep my finger over the subject, even though "it" was moving in relation to the Inspire and that the camera would then keep that in frame but it seems (to me) that it takes this as an input to just move the camera and soon you've lost the subject - unless it's just me not having the practice yet ?
     
  2. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    The finger on screen method just works like a virtual joystick. There is no object tracking.
     
  3. PhantomKid

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sure - what I meant was I thought it might be easy to just drag your finger over the subject (like a moving car) and be able to keep the camera pointing at it - but it's not as easy as that.

    Maybe that's why there is the two control option :rolleyes:
     
  4. GenesisKnight

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Southern Alberta
    There will be a POI (Point of Interest) function through the IOC...though that is yet to be released...they make mention of it in the manual. I'd be very interested to see how it works. I'll not always have a second person with me for gimbal control...so that would be a big help instead of trying to control the camera on the screen and the aircraft with the controller...lol
     
  5. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    GUerneville Ca.
    i am sure that is correct.
     
  6. PeterofAVL

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    Isn't there a way to make it track the location of the controller though?

    Seems like there is. Mentioned somewhere around page 40 of the manual no?
     
  7. PhantomKid

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sure, i understand that too but . . . you can control the camera with your finger and the software is rather clever - I was hoping that this wasn't too much of an impossible task ?
     
  8. PeterofAVL

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9

    So if you had dual controllers, couldn't you put one in the moving object you want to track, and tell IOC to track the second controller?
     
  9. kilowonghk

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    what is the yellow box (close 'x' in the corner) for when u touch any part of the screen?
     
    Scot Davis likes this.
  10. Scot Davis

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Durango, CO
    I would like to know this also??
     
  11. InterMurph

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    227
    I believe this is a fix-focus lens and camera, so I don't think that's it.
     
    Ronable likes this.
  12. RolandRSA

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    14
    That is to set your exposure at that point you tap on.
     
  13. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,708
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Yes - spot metering. As opposed to the default which is evaluative.
     
    sirnikolas, lrwskyfilms and diverreb like this.
  14. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    GUerneville Ca.
    yes,it is spot metering and is a great feature. i tend to use the exposure wheel but sometimes go the wrong direction which looks crappy on video. i am thinking i may use spot metering next time as i have played with it enough to know where to select on the screen to get good exposure. i am still not clear on how to get the best exposure for video with changing conditions. a friend uses manual and i tried that last time and it seemed to work better. heck my old sony video camera and my go pro seem to have better auto exp…what the heck am i missing here?
     
  15. PetePerrim

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand

    Me too, I'm really struggling to get video that's not either too dark or washed out. Why the fuck isn't there a fully automatic function so you can just hit record and itll do the very best with the light available? My Gopro does a far better job than this camera.
     
  16. Paul K

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    32
    Auto exposure you wish to have doesn't exist in any camera ,as far as I know. Autoexposure is mesured based on 18% grey card .
    You can't compare GoPro and inspire camera,because of lens difference.GP lens is wide angle/fisheye, compare to standard lens on inspire1. Narrower lens is working similarly as spot meter compare to wide one, that's why you have feeling the exposure on GP is better,but that is just a illusion.
    My recommendation would be to do a flight test and determine how much sky you would like to have in the shot ,point the lens on the area of interest ,and prepare the exposure accordingly, than during the actual shoot , make only small adjustments or I would use compensation (if you have big portion of the sky in the shoot, underexpose 1or1,5. If the ground is bit darker,you will correct it with editing software.
    Second option is to use manual exposure ,again do a test flight/shoot determine the best exposure setting ,and again during the flight make just slight corrections.I don't have Inspire yet ,but as it was mentioned above ,you can spot meter right by taping a screen, if you don't go to extreme ,like taping on sky and next to tap darkest spot of the scene (tap from lightest to darkest gradually)than it would be very easy after some practice.
     
    #16 Paul K, Feb 15, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2015
  17. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Thx excellent advice, cheers Mark
     
  18. SkySight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Dallas & Los Angeles
    Trying to shoot something that isn't moving and flying around it with the drone is not as easy as I thought it would be. I can't always have a second person with me and our other controller. Any idea when POI or waypoints are going to be added? If I have way points I can fly the same route by just controlling the camera and not worrying about the Inspire. Or if we had a POI then I could do the opposite. I'd really like both for flexibility. They advertised all of this when I purchased it.
     
    Moleyb likes this.
  19. GenesisKnight

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Southern Alberta
    No doubt SkySight.
    Even something as big as this huge rock took some practice...

     
  20. PeterofAVL

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    You're so right skysight.

    When exactly is DJI going to bring the UAV up to advertised specs. Is it going to take a class action suite to get them to do the right thing? Instead of working on the features they promised, they're adding a dorky video editor to the app?

    Come on DJI.