Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Once my firmware is installed can i erase it from my sd card? Nt

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by inspire909, Aug 10, 2015.

  1. inspire909

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Satellite beach f.l
    Once I install the firmware on my inspire can I delete the firmware from my SD card thank you for your help
     
  2. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    Yes. However, it is advisable to keep it on the MicroSD card until all your batteries have been updated.
     
    sirnikolas and turbodronepilot like this.
  3. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Hey inspire909...
    the only reason I can think of to leave the firmware on the SD card is to update your batteries so if you finished updating the ac,rc and batteries then go ahead and erase it if you want...
    nothing will happen if you leave it ..
     
    sirnikolas likes this.
  4. inspire909

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Satellite beach f.l
    Yes I already updated all 4 batterys and now when I use this sd card it starts to update then aborts and the text file says aborted because same firmware already exists
     
    Scotflieger likes this.
  5. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Then just remove it...
     
    sirnikolas likes this.
  6. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    Then get rid of it but keep a copy for future use.
     
    sirnikolas and turbodronepilot like this.
  7. inspire909

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Satellite beach f.l
    Awesome thanks you guys I was getting an poor conection alert due to interference but when I changed sd cards it's fine and I'm in the same spot
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  8. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    That's nuts...
     
    sirnikolas and inspire909 like this.
  9. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    I only ever use the SD card that came with the I1 to update the I1, AC RC and batteries. Once all done, I swap it with my 64GB SD.
     
    LockMD and turbodronepilot like this.
  10. DavidB

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    57
    For me I have got copies of the firmware update files (saved the zipped downloads), for future use if required. After the latest update (including 5 batteries and the RC) I needed to change SD cards in the camera for the I1 to work. Now I fly with nothing on the SD card and update using a separate SD card.
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  11. SultanGris

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    238
    i fail to see how an sd card can affect signal. likely just a coincidence, ;)
     
  12. inspire909

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Satellite beach f.l
    I thought the same thing so I kept going back and forth between the 2 sd cards and every time I put the one with the firmware on it in the quad I would get the strong interference alert when I put the blank one in everthing is good ...very strange and quite possibly a coincidence
     
  13. SultanGris

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    238
    hrm, very interesting that you were able to recreate the error reliably. im baffled! What kind of card is it that causes the issue and what files are on it?
     
  14. inspire909

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Satellite beach f.l
    It was a brand new pny 32gig extreme card I bought with the quad from drone fly it was empty other than the firmware ..I noticed after the firmware install and all my batterys were updated when I would power on the a/c it would do a few little beeps like it was trying to update but would stop after maybe 5 seconds and power up just like normal so I pulled the card and put it in my laptop to read the text file and that's when I seen all the short texts saying firmware update was aborted due to the same version already installed
     
  15. inspire909

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Satellite beach f.l
    Here's the text file
     
  16. inspire909

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Satellite beach f.l
  17. SultanGris

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    238
    did you try to format it with the inspire? any change in behavior?
     
  18. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Assuming of course that you have also updated your RC with the same FW update?
     
  19. inspire909

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Satellite beach f.l
    Yes sir the rc was updated at the same time and those other success you see are the battery updates
     
  20. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Yep, Use the app to format your card and you are good to go!