Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Opinions Please on this footage

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by Richard Hurst, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. Richard Hurst

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    105
    Hi everyone, as we are all aware the latest firmware released for the Inspire/X5 combo has raised noise issues so I have rolled back to V1.3.0.60 and took some footage today.

    Can I have your opinion on this to tell me if you think its noisey or am I just being paranoid now. It has been shot in 1080p at 60fps in "None" mode wit settings for sharpness,contrast and saturation all at 0, 0, 0. I know in places the horizon isn't level and there is blown highlights I wasn't aiming to produce a masterpiece just some sample footage to check. The day was slightly hazy but that is all. Not added any sharpness just created a sequence in premiere then exported it as is. I value your opinions.

     
    #1 Richard Hurst, Mar 22, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
  2. Cloudshots

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think I know what you mean. I wouldn't define it as noise though. It's most noticeable in the grass and the trees at the end. Feels like it has to do with sharpening but since you haven't added any I don't know.
    I remember seeing something like this in my footage whilst running the latest firmware last week. No clue what it is.
     
    Richard Hurst likes this.
  3. InterMurph

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    227
    I think you are seeing moire and haze. I don't see any noise.
     
    Richard Hurst likes this.
  4. Richard Hurst

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    105
    I think trees/bare branches always throw up issues. Maybe I'm being to over critical
     
  5. Richard Hurst

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    105

    Nothing in the trees and the darker parts of the houses?
     
  6. Nigpd

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    UK
    What ISO did you set?
     
  7. Richard Hurst

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    105

    This was at ISO200 because I was told recently by a DJI employee that this is the X5 base ISO and the reason people were having issues in the latest firmware was because there was a bug in it that created the noise at ISO100 but not at ISO200 so I though although I have rolled back to the previous firmware I'd still stay at ISO200
     
  8. Richard Hurst

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    105
    Here is the same footage with sharpness increased to 25 in Premiere Pro

     
  9. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Looks heavily compressed. Shoot in 4K. Edit in 1080p.
     
  10. Richard Hurst

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    105
    Thanks for your input everyone, I think it's a case of just me being a bit over paranoid. I've removed the clips off youtube so they don't play anymore.
     
  11. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    337
    to me 1080p60 on the X5 still looks like the X3, don't know why but it just does to my eye... On the X5 I shoot everything in 2.7k30 - d-cinelike. I find the 4k files to look the most compressed, especially in dark areas the shadow detail is garbage. In 2.7k the compression is still there but minimized - again to my eye.
     
  12. Richard Hurst

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    105
    I will give 2.7K a try myself