Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Orthophotos with Inspire 1

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by tuxevil, May 12, 2015.

  1. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hi all, im opening this thread just couse we started debating orthophotos in another thread and i dont want to go offtopic there

    so a few weeks ago i took this pics of my cousin heliport/hangar and made an orthophoto with Pix4D (9 photos)

    and today i will be doing more testing with this, couse i got a call from a town goberment, who wants to use some drone to do this year cataster and i need to check if i can do it with I1 or i will need to buy another drone, for example, a X8-M from 3DR
     

    Attached Files:

    andreweio1 likes this.
  2. Todd.boward

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia
    i use an X8M for my mapping, but have been wondering the small. If we could plan missions we would probably be able to do more
     
  3. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    for ortho work its all about the camera and how you reference the shots to the IMU
     
  4. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    At present I do many orthos using a Phantom 2, GoPro with a 5.4mm lens and DJI Ground Station. I do have flytrex Core 2 for the GPS data but I tend to use the georeferencer plugin in QGIS to tag the mossaic out of Photoscan Pro. I get amazing results. Not very exciting images to most so I don't post them. This is mainly for archaeological work.

    I will be moving to an Inspire shortly with the anticipation of waypoints coming soon. In Ireland here I need something to fly in stronger winds. I plan to strap my RX100 to it belly to get the 20 megapixel images. The Inspire suits me as it's RTF, I am not an RC or modeller guy.

    Anyway, great discussion topic.
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  5. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    well first test with 9 picture with everything in default settings looks good enought

    now i did a first flight at 70mts heigh taking 109 images with 5 sec time lapse, flying at 5m/s - 7m/s trying to have 50% overlaping
    and a second flight at 120mts heigh taking 135 images, same time lapse, same speed
     
  6. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    here are both flight records, with first Pix4D report

    fs_1431454965187-1432280990.jpg fs_1431455480215-1927035569.jpg
     
  7. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    Excellent steady grid there man! We'll done. I get lazy with waypoints! It's nice that the Inspire geotags the images too. Although for real accuracy I use ground control points of known long/lat.
     
    tuxevil likes this.
  8. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    thanks

    i have the 4 corners location(lat/long) of the terrain just below my pictures, taken by proffesional GPS, to check my resutls precisition
     
  9. Moleyb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
    Here's one I did, its an area about 80m square. I think the Inspire handled it pretty well, just needs photos taken at a reasonable level.
     

    Attached Files:

    Busch likes this.
  10. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    it looks really nice
     
  11. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    ok, i have the ortho from first flight

    PS: its scaled, original GeoTiff was 330mb, original size JPG was 70mb
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Moleyb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
    Nice. Did you just have the camera pointed directly down, and set to timelapse, and then fly a steady grid route?
     
  13. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    exactly, camera pointed 90° (down), time lapse 5 secs and first flight testing the speed(5-7 m/s) and altittude (70mts), changed to map view and tried to make a grid

    now im going to make 2nd flight mosaic
     
  14. Moleyb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
    Yeah that works well. Did you compile that using Pix4D free version? I've been meaning to test that software for a while, I used Autodesk.
     
  15. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    yes, i did with pix4d using the 1 week free pro license

    but that was just 28 hectares

    if i get the contract for the town goberment, i will need something more practical, it might be 5k hectares, and im really thinking about buying a X8+ + camera and renting pix4d monthly
     
  16. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    the orthophoto of the second flight
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Todd.boward

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia
    are you flying that grid by manual control?
     
  18. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yes
     
    Todd.boward likes this.
  19. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    how did you calculate and maintain the side lap?
     
  20. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    also, what accuracy does pix claim to have?