Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Oscillation after CFIT

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

First of all, hello and thank you to everyone who's made this community such a helpful resource! I've technically had my Inspire 1 for a few months, but a big portion of those were flightless due to a bum USB port on the controller that never allowed me to perform the initial setup... but that's another story.

I've been piloting nano quads for a few months, mostly terrorizing my dog all around the house ;) but the Inspire is my first experience flying a platform of this complexity.

First flights went really well... and on the weekend, feeling pretty good about myself, I miscalculated the distance to a tree and got a lot closer than anticipated. Luckily, the Inspire got entangled with a small, flexible branch, but the gimbal and gimbal mounting plate got torn off.

I eventually retrieved the Inspire (stuck on a fairly high branch), and reassembled everything. The tally was pretty light, all things considered: damage to all four props, a cracked lens filter on the gimbal, and not much else.

After reassembly (including four fresh props, of course), I was able to successfully take off and fly around. A few minutes in, I got a 'Gimbal Overload' error on the status bar, so I landed. Powered down, powered back up, and tried again. I flew a few more minutes without the warning, then reached a low batt state and came in for final landing.

I watched the footage, and found that while the camera was steady throughout the first flight, there was a rhythmic oscillation on the second and third flights. I must have either mounted the gimbal vibration dampener incorrectly, or not noticed other damage that occurred during the collision. Any thoughts/suggestions on what to look for? I'm happy to process/post the before/after footage later this evening, if it helps.