Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Osmo & Inspire controller?

Discussion in 'Osmo (Handheld Gimbal)' started by dopeytree, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. dopeytree

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    Anyone know if you can use a controller with the Osmo? Say if you had one one guy running with the osmo & another operating the camera. You could also then have a hdmi output.
     
    Dr_Dooms likes this.
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    How? The OSMO doesn't transmit anything.
     
  3. dopeytree

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    Smartphone connects to the Osmos WIFI. My guess is lightbridge is a hacked wifi so wondered if the two can work together at all.

    I guess maybe the idea is you just use another tablet and join the wifi? that would give you a 2nd screen

    I know you can hookup a controller to the Ronin & as they've just brought out the wireless focus puller (has to be plugged into a controller) that works on the inspire x5 (x5 also works on osmo) so I'm wondering if controllers will work with osmo.
     
  4. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Opps - sorry, my mistake. I didn't think the stick transmitted anything (I have no interest in a stick so I haven't researched them enough).
    I now understand they do in fact have WiFi video link.
    I will shut up now and crawl back in my man cave.
     
  5. dopeytree

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    I wonder how long till we have live selfi feeds on Facebook.. here's my face while I poo.. It is a strange phenomenon :eek:
     
  6. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    The I1 remotes have nothing to do with WiFi.
     
  7. dopeytree

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    Strictly speaking thats true. But they all run on wifi frequency
    • 5.725 GHz ~ 5.825 GHz
    • 2.400 GHz ~ 2.483 GHz
    I'm sure they work together. They are in the business of creating an eco system. With the x5 & x5R
     
  8. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Frequency band is one thing, but only a tiny fraction of how a system works.
    The LB uses completely different components, modulation and protocols.
     
  9. dopeytree

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    Ok lets put it another way. Do you think the Omso has lightbridge built in as well as wifi?
     
  10. johnmont250

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    100
    maybe the ronin thumb controller will work with the osmo in the future, that would be sweet.
     
  11. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Pretty certainly not. IMO it would cost 2-3x its price and be significantly more bulky if both technologies were in.
     
    dopeytree likes this.
  12. dopeytree

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    Just looked up the specs.. its interested to note the new cheap phantom 3 standard uses a similar setup with video on 2.4ghz wifi & control features on 5.8.ghz
    Phantom 3 Standard Specifications | DJI

    Maybe the phantom 3 standard's controller works with the Oslo.

    If not just hope you can connect a 2nd iPad etc to view the live stream.
     
    #12 dopeytree, Oct 31, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2015
  13. Auspete

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    25
    How about the first guy just walking around with the Inspire (no props) - that would work hahaha
     
    DavidK and dopeytree like this.