Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Pilot App showing Disconnected and no video

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by kiwidrone, Jul 19, 2015.

  1. kiwidrone

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Feilding, New Zealand
    Hi all,

    A strange thing happened today. I have had no issues with any of my Inspire equipment ever in about 70 flights, then after lunch went out to get some flying in. Two batteries and everything was humming! Thought I would go one last battery, inserted the battery, turned on the Inspire, the RC green light came up but the Pilot App was showing as "Disconnected" and no video feed from the camera. Restart a few times and no change. Try both used batteries back in the Inspire, still disconnected and no video!! The weird thing is that I can still tilt the camera using the RC jog dial and even start and stop the props (too scared to take off).

    Reset everything a couple of times, no change. Try a different lightning cable in my iPad mini, no change. Connect the second RC to the Inspire and a video feed comes up!!

    I've read various posts about faulty USB port on the RC but is this symptom indicative of a dodgy port?

    Appreciate any advice before I send it back to DJI.
     
  2. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Known issue with Pilot app v1.2. Try turning off video caching or going back to v1.1.2, assuming it's not a USB problem.
     
  3. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Have you tried disconnecting and reconnecting the camera?
     
  4. kiwidrone

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Feilding, New Zealand
    Yes I did disconnect and reconnect the camera. The fact that the second RC works fine is leading me to think it's the USB port, but I'm open to any and all suggestions.
     
  5. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    What app version are you running and on what platform. If it's Android, I'd be happy to flick ya a couple of older versions to test.
     
  6. kiwidrone

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Feilding, New Zealand
    I'm running version 1.2 on an iPad mini. Don't have any Android devices at home but have a few at work I might try.
     
  7. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Let us know how you go. Good luck!
     
  8. Vision Above

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    The exact thing has happened to me twice, but only on the aircraft controllers screen. The camera operators screen operates as normal. I'm running 1.2 and an iPad mini on each controller .
     
  9. shane skeen

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having same issue while flying it states disconnected off and on but can record a video with no problems. I had the inspire 5 feet from me at hover and it keeps disconnecting and loosing view on ipad. Is this an app issue.
     
  10. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    This is a known issue with iOS pilot app v1.2. DJI is working on it I believe. For now, if you have your old v1.1.2 ipa file around (must be yours, not someone else's), you can install it back on your device using iTools.

    Also try disabling video caching and shutdown all other apps on your device.
     
    sirnikolas likes this.
  11. kiwidrone

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Feilding, New Zealand
    I've now changed my second RC (camera operator) over to be the Master and all is working fine. Made the original master controller the slave but it didn't fix the no video issue, so it looks like the RC controller needs to be replaced.
     
  12. neilw

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    San Diego
    Just had my first occurrence of a Disconnect. Using Pilot 1.1.2, so not related to newer app. Happened when bird was about 150' out and at about 20' high. Tried restarting the app, but no go. Unplugged USB and replugged back in. Nothing. I did a RTH and it did come back and eventually reconnected, but worries me that I appear to have lost control for a while. That said, I was able to return it and land okay (had control on landing), so not sure what the Disconnect really is telling me.