Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Power Adaptor For I1. Use With Out Battery?

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by Blue Bird, Oct 10, 2015.

  1. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Hey Fellow Pilots,
    I was just curious if there is a power adapter for on table running of the I1 without using the battery. You know, a wall adapter of sort.
    Many of us like to do updates but also want to do pre flight checks and other things like flying the simulator and such with out having to use our batteries for this. Anyone have any ideas? If anyone feels like I do about this, then maybe someone will come up with it. I hope! I want to conserve batteries when I can.
    What do you think about this?
     
  2. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    You could build one but most wall outlets are 12v....the inspire is 22.2 so you'd need a regulator...and probry a few other things.
     
  3. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Agreed! But surly someone has an idea for this or has made one. If they have, then they should be marketing it.
     
  4. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    I can only imagine it would look like a simulated battery to plug in and then a adapter to plug into it.
    That would be awesome if some one could come up with that!
     
  5. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    I just use a battery to test stuff and usually it's my crappiest one that gets this fate......charge on site in between breaks and stuff...usually bring 7-8 batteries...plus 4 chargers.
     
  6. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Well, that's the extreme! Im talking about a adapter for testing on the bench. and used as a tool so we don't use up our batteries for such testing. A regulated supply adapter for bench use. That would be the s**t!!
     
  7. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Right, I use it for that as well... usually the crappiest one.

    The battery I initially got with the i1 was kinda that battery and has been...never really use it for a flight pack
     
  8. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Ok so, Your still using battery. I understand that, but I'm talking about a power supply adapter for use on the bench.
     
  9. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Absolutely what im talking about! You have the idea that I have.Lets make it happen so that we can make flying the I1 more favorable when it comes to an official personal tool for all of us!.. Spread the word! The 4 pogo pins mean really nothing when it comes to just running the I1 on the bench unless someone wants to take that task into hand. Just a power supply would be cool non the the less. Everything else can be done thru the Go app.
     
    #9 Blue Bird, Oct 10, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2015
    Chnjab likes this.
  10. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Ok! Not small circles but it is a start Lol!!? I like that! Now for our very own patent!??
     
  11. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Preflight checks should be done with the actual setup that is going to fly including the battery to have any validity.
    Updates... please don't do those with an AC adapter, the last thing you want is a voltage dip or mains interruption that bricks your unit.

    Sim, why not. But if you're gonna fly the sim for hours it's not like you can't spend half an hour to recharge a pack afterwards.
     
  12. go fast

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Miami Fl.
    Why would pre flight checks have to be done with a battery those values should change only depending on location compass , IMU etc. The main thing is it would be nice to navigate thru the Go app change settings etc . without using battery power.
     
    Blue Bird likes this.
  13. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Because your preflight checks are obviously done on location right before takeoff for the reason you mentioned (I doubt you've got a mains outlet there on the field) and include checking battery status and condition which you can't do if not using the battery you're about to fly with?
    Does spending 5 minutes doing checks and the 1% drop in battery % it will cause really matter that much?
     
  14. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    some people are very particular about maximizing flight time for some reason?
     
    Blue Bird likes this.
  15. go fast

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Miami Fl.
    With all due respect I think you guys are missing the point it's not about maximizing flight time or doing pre-flight checks , just saying an a/c power option would be nice (obviously when your not flying or want to check full battery status) when you want to go thru/get famaliar with the app and all its features.