Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Problem updating controller

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Martycox51, Apr 8, 2016.

  1. Martycox51

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    8
    I just updated my quad with the new firmware update with easy success, however, when I put the bin file onto a flash drive and tried to update my controller, it didn't do anything when I turned the controller on. Does anyone have an idea of what I could be doing wrong? Thanks.
     
    #1 Martycox51, Apr 8, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  2. Canuck32

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    RC is updated via app.
    Have ac off, update app to latest 2.7.1 version, plug in RC to devise and start go app.
    When it connects s up there will a prompt to download RC FW, accept and after it downloads it it will update RC controller.

    Do Not turn off RC until FW install completed. Should take less than 10 mins in my experience.
     
    #2 Canuck32, Apr 8, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  3. glspro

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Luis, Argentina.
    Hi, really is important this upgrade? Work OK? Thanks
     
  4. Martycox51

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    8
  5. Martycox51

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    8
    I updated the Go App and then turned my controller on followed by opening the Go app. It did not ask about a download. Do I turn my quad on as well?
     
  6. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    I am having the exact same issue. Trying to update my X5. Firmware name: WM610_FC550_FW_V01.08.01.00.bin

    The AC seemed to update fine. The RC did not update when I used a flash drive with firmware connected to the RC. So I confirmed that my GoApp is current...turned on the RC...I get no prompt to upgrade firmware for the RC. I just get a disconneted signal at the top of the screen...because my AC is off.

    When I turn the AC on, I get a red flashing light saying the RC signal is lost.

    Not sure what to do?

    I connected the RC directly to my X5 camera and nothing happened updating the RC
     
  7. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    577
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    First, it is no longer possible to update the RC using the USB port. An RC update is detected, downloaded and installed using the app.

    See News Thread on 1.8.1.0 update and fix for RC. With the App and RC connected, press and hold Academy (Teacher's Hat) icon (top right for 10 secs) and screen will pop up showing you the installed RC firmware version allowing you to downgrade it.
     
    John Archer and Figbar like this.
  8. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    Scott... I will give this a try. Thank you very much.
     
  9. Richard in ky

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    I was trying to downgrade to the last firmware because I made the mistake of loading the RC first and not the aircraft won't go out of travel mode. But when I tried to downgrade by holding the academy cap It just says no downgrade available and doesn't show the version in the controller either.
     
  10. Matt Jenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the only recent (2016) thread I can relate my issues to. I have owned my Inspire for two weeks... flown it once. Out of the box the drone flew well and was very responsive (zero lag). The first problem I encountered was the camera footage would periodically shake/vibrate, making it unusable. The video would go from clear and wonderful to vibrating. DJI support told me to try a laundry list of things - from calibrating gimbal, IMU, RC, etc... to installing firmware upgrades. Now the drone has become completely unresponsive. It will power on, camera spins and initializes then I get the steady blinking yellow light and zilch. nada. nuthin. the controller will not communicate with it. Has anyone else had similar issues? Advice?
     
  11. jixxer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    18
    Not sure If you emailed support or called them. Email Support has never been able to help me . I called service dept. Chances are they will tell you to send it in. Free Shipping Both Ways.

    +1 (818) 235 0789 DJI Carson California

    Mon-Fri 9:00AM - 5:00PM (PST)
     
  12. Matt Jenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  13. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    160
    What FW version is the craft and controller on ?

    Can you post the hidden log file from the craft update located in the MISC\LOG\ folder on the SD card

    You will need to enable view hidden files on your computer to see this.
     
    The Editor likes this.
  14. Matt Jenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    Attached is the .txt file from the LOG folder - cannot upload the OSMO_FW_Progress file, or the OSMO_cam_version file. But here is what each reads:
    _______________________________________
    FW_Progress:
    Last login: Tue Apr 19 22:42:14 on ttys000

    Marketing-MacBook-Pro:~ mattjenkins$ /Volumes/Untitled/MISC/LOG/OSMO_FW_PROGRESS ; exit;

    -bash: /Volumes/Untitled/MISC/LOG/OSMO_FW_PROGRESS: cannot execute binary file

    logout

    [Process completed]
    ________________________________________

    Cam_Version:
    Last login: Tue Apr 19 22:42:48 on ttys000

    Marketing-MacBook-Pro:~ mattjenkins$ /Volumes/Untitled/MISC/LOG/OSMO_CAM_VERSION ; exit;

    /Volumes/Untitled/MISC/LOG/OSMO_CAM_VERSION: line 1: ?A??: command not found

    logout

    [Process completed]
    ________________________________________
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    160

    Bad news you have the 08/15 module missing error, this is something that seems to happen randomly with FW updates.

    Only solution is to send into DJI for repair sadly, contact them and open a ticket.

    Sorry
     
  16. Matt Jenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, ^*#@&#*#%&#%@&#&*#@@!!!!!

    Thank you Mad_angler for your help. Off to DJI it goes.