Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Propulsion output is limited to ensure safety of battery

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lucadeceres, Jun 9, 2016.

  1. lucadeceres

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Italy
    I saw this message for the first time flying my I1 pro with the latest firmware...
    I looked to know exactly what is related to... any specific suggestion?

    In some older posts they say that is related to cold temperatures.... but it's not my case...
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,879
    It can be any number of things.....
    • Cold battery temperature
    • A nearly depleted pack that is being asked too much current (high throttle/climb out)
    • A weak pack/cell that is sagging under load and therefore has the output limited to ensure the cell doesn't drop to LVC.
     
    slim.slamma likes this.
  3. lucadeceres

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Italy
    Probably was the third one... that was a very old and used battery. I had some power drops in the past. Is that a new firmware safety feature? Never get that message before
     
  4. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,453
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Aka the "battery nanny".

    It's a combination of temp, battery level and voltage drain.

    Any battery temp outside about 14C - 45C can bring it on, depending on factors above.

    Optimal discharge range for LiPos is 20C - 40C. Discharge capacity can drop off beyond those ranges.

    [​IMG]
     
    slim.slamma likes this.
  5. MacDyver

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    South Florida
    I get it and the temperature here doesn't drop below 70, new batteries some with less than 10 flights, fully charged.
     
  6. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,453
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    See my post above. It's battery temp not ambient temp that matters
     
    The Editor likes this.
  7. Charles.mabry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Prescott, Az
    I get this every now and then.... ive noticed only In high winds
     
  8. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,453
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yes, again it's a combination of battery core temp, battery level and voltage drain.

    You can have a battery temp of 10C or 55C and not get the message if you're just hovering. But if the aircraft is creating significant voltage draw for whatever reason (pilot command, fighting high wind, combination thereof), propulsion output will be limited.
     
    #8 damoncooper, Jun 19, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2016
  9. Steve Bunch

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Hermosa Beach, California
    wow. I've seen it several times when it was 70 degrees plus outside. i thought i'd turned on beginner mode. doh!
     
    damoncooper likes this.