Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

PSA: Only one firmware file at a time on SD Card

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by From Rent to Drone, May 26, 2015.

  1. From Rent to Drone

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    PSA: The Inspire One does not like two firmware files on the card at the same time. Save yourself some time and make sure only one exists... redundant.JPG
     
  2. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    Sorry but that seems pretty obvious. Don't you think?
     
  3. From Rent to Drone

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry it didn't seem obvious to me because I never encountered it. It is just one more thing to not do. I consider myself lucky that they even printed the reason.
     
  4. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    No worries.

    The main issue is when you boot up the AC, by default, it looks for the *bin file in the root directory of the sd card. This is why you want a empty sd card with only the bin file.

    If it find that there are bin files it probably rejects the update and give you the error message.
     
  5. From Rent to Drone

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    With that being said, I think we can all agree that the firmware update process is rather primitive for such an advanced device.
     
  6. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    I wouldn't. I would rather have as basic as it could be simply because it is the firmware. The operating instructions of the craft and you want to get those instruction word for word, sequence by sequence. No interference or no conflicting packets.
     
  7. From Rent to Drone

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't disagree about conflicts. If the Controller can tell you that the firmware is not up to date, why can't it (1) Download the Firmware and (2) Give you the option of updating it, and (3) Give you firmware update progress right from the $500 controller of a $3000 device? Putting firmware on a SD card seems like a step back from plugging your Phantom in your laptop to upgrade the firmware.
     
  8. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    Well to each his/her own perspective.
     
    From Rent to Drone likes this.
  9. Ibflyen

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    79
    +1
     
  10. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    That complexity would introduce multiple extra potential failure points. Not really what you want when the current, simple process is already known to occasionally fail...

    The update progress on the app worked for me the times I had the controller on... except those where the firmware of the link components was being upgraded too of course, can't communicate when the communication equipment is being flashed, reciprocally the flashing process can't be dependent on communication.

    BTW, it's right there in the upgrade manual that only one file should be present on the card at a time.
     
    #10 Kilrah, May 26, 2015
    Last edited: May 26, 2015
  11. Eric

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    San Jose
    I like it on The SD as I missed a battery once and was able to update in the middle of BFE.