Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

RC new firmware out? My iPad asking me to update RC to 1.4.30

Discussion in 'News' started by SuperPete, Oct 24, 2015.

  1. SuperPete

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    27
    So yesterday I turn my inspire one and my iPad asked me to update my Remote Controller to firmware 1.4.30
    I checked DJI site for new update information and see nothing on it.
    Anyone else got this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Asomaro

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah I had that message - updated both transmitters with no issues so far!
     
  3. Highrpm955

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    223
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA,USA
    So then, how do you update?.. I had no on screen instructions as indicated.
     
  4. kcobello

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Ransomville NY
    Go through camera view and download and install.
     
  5. Highrpm955

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    223
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA,USA
    That's not giving me the option. Do you need to be connected to wifi?
     
  6. Alastair

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Prince Edward Island, Canada
    I believe you do have to be connected to wifi, there is an update that is downloaded. Or if you have a good data plan ;)
     
  7. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,720
    Likes Received:
    3,872
    You must now update RC firmware through the DJI GO App.
    The firmware is downloaded (via WiFi or your cellular data plan) to your tablet and then installed via the tablet/app to your remote.
     
  8. SuperPete

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    27
    I will wait till DJI has it official download information on the website. I don't know what I am getting in to, don't want be test dummy...
    I like to know what I am downloading and installing.

    Thanks all
     
  9. Highrpm955

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    223
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA,USA
    Got it.. thanks!
     
  10. Clampit

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Essex. UK
    Updated my RC yesterday via the go app, all good my end;)
     
    #10 Clampit, Nov 1, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2015
    dirkclod likes this.
  11. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    577
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    You may be waiting some time then. Not everyone checks the website. DJI are increasing moving to the GO app as the means of informing users of updates to the firmware and apps.
     
  12. Clampit

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Essex. UK
    I think that's so much better, well I do anyway;)
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  13. emulsiondown

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston
    how does one go about checking current firmware? ta very much!
     
  14. Clampit

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Essex. UK
    Hi emulsiondown,

    In the go app,

    Press the icon, top right of screen, "general settings"
    Scroll down & you will see "about"
    Press that & it will tell you all you need to know about what firmware settings you have.

    This is for the IOS platform don't know if it's the same for android;)

    Hope this helps;)
     
    dirkclod and emulsiondown like this.
  15. emulsiondown

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston
    thank you so much! learning a new UI can sometimes be frustrating! ha. :)
     
    Clampit likes this.
  16. Clampit

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Essex. UK
    Your more than welcome, I'm still learning & will never stop:eek: only been flying my inspire since June.;)
     
    John Archer, dirkclod and AndrewH like this.
  17. John Archer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Illinois
    Hey CLAMPIT-

    Followed your directions and came up with the following setting (as of 3/30/16) :

    App-2.7.1
    Aircraft- !.4.00.10+
    RC-!.5.80
    Camera-1.5.00.30

    Currently my RC says the Battery & Camera need updated, but there is no update to click on, only the warnings. I have the WiFi turned on, I have reloaded DJI.Go several times, and I cycled all 4 batteries through the Aircraft. My bird will fly even with the warnings. Last time something like this happened, with my old Phantom 3 Pro, the batteries I was using started off saying they needed updated. I went ahead and flew the Phantom and they updated automatically. Not so with my Inspire V2.0.
    I have tried to read every post available and if this problem has already been cussed and discussed, please point me in the right direction. I have fly away nightmares.

    Thanks to any and all replies!!!
     
  18. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    577
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    The updates for the battery and camera need to be downloaded and placed on the MicroSD card to install. They are not installed via the app. Go to the DJI.COM.
     
    John Archer likes this.
  19. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,720
    Likes Received:
    3,872
    John, you need to update the aircraft and batteries not through the app but via the firmware file which must be loaded onto the MicroSD card and loaded into the camera.
    The remote and app must NOT be on during this process.
    There are quite a few threads on the update process and DJI have some instructions on the firmware update process on the Inspire downloads page.
    Have a read up and if you have anymore questions then shout out on the forum and someone will be along to help. :)
     
    John Archer likes this.
  20. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,720
    Likes Received:
    3,872
    Beat me to it!
     
    John Archer and Scotflieger like this.