Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

RE-calibrating camera?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by CO_Mark, Oct 12, 2015.

  1. CO_Mark

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm not 100% sure that I properly calibrated my X5 when I received it. Does anyone know if there is a way to re-do this step? I'm brand new to DJI stuff, and not entirely familiar with the DJI Go app yet.
     
  2. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    In the app, go to menu, then select the tool icon, scroll to bottom, there is a calibration setting. Make sure to select a high contrast object at least 50 m away.
     

    Attached Files:

    CO_Mark likes this.
  3. CO_Mark

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Awesome - thanks QuadPilot, much appreciated.
     
  4. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,711
    Likes Received:
    3,870
    Your kitchen is a fantastic size if it is 164foot long so you can calibrate your X5.

    I want a kitchen like that ! :p
     
  5. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    Haha, you should see my living room! ;)

    I just posted a screen shot to show the page he was looking for, but you knew that. :D
     
    The Editor likes this.
  6. larryzhou

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    it says you need 50m to do the cali, jeez,,,,
     
  7. ajohnsonlaird

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    56
    50m? Hmm. That seems quite a long way for it to be the hyperfocal distance. I guess trees without leaves and sky view behind them would work. Or a house more than 50m away would work.

    Andy.
     
  8. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,711
    Likes Received:
    3,870
    Or Quadpilots kitchen! :p
     
  9. Jason Woodcock

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    Can someone confirm if this is needed for each flight/time you connect the camera?

    M footage from last nights fireworks is blurry as hell!! Im gutted as I had permission to fly up close and personal at a private display!! all video out of focus!!!!!! mortified!!!
     
  10. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    That was the Help's Kitchen. You should see the Main Kitchen. ;)
     
    The Editor likes this.
  11. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    You're not calibrating the hyperfocal distance, but infinity for the lens. That's why you need to find a high-contrast object at least 50 m away. You should only need to do this once for each lens. I can't verify if this is only for lenses that DJI has approved and for which the camera has a profile, or if un-approved lenses will remember the calibration after swapping lenses. Haven't had enough trials with my Oly 25 and 45 mm lenses to verify, but my DJI 15 and Oly 12 (approved) have held focus calibration after swap.
     
    #11 Quadpilot, Nov 8, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2015
  12. Jason Woodcock

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks for the response I've redone the calibration and things look OK ill have a better idea when I get to go out again if it ever stops raining!!
     
  13. Vincentlub

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, where do you activate focus peaking? ( the red line so that you know it is sharp) i know how to activate the focus assist, bud where is the peaking and can you set the % for it?
     
  14. johnmont250

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    100
    its under
    general settings
    peak focus threshold
    u can select none, or 70-90%
    90% shows less red highlighting
     
  15. Vincentlub

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    let me see a screenshot, it's not in my general settings
     
  16. johnmont250

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    100
    image.png image.png image.png screenshot.
     
    #16 johnmont250, Nov 21, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2015
  17. DroneTechAerial

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Malibu, CA
    Just as a note, since we have one android and one ipad, focus peeking does not appear on the android tablet as an option.