Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Really pissed off.

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by Eye in the sky, Jul 13, 2016.

  1. Eye in the sky

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hi all,

    I'm hoping against hope that someone can give me some help.

    I bought a slave remote for my inspire 1 quite a while ago. I used once after setting it up as a slave and it worked perfectly.
    It has since sat in my case and not been used at all. I have upgraded each time a new upgrade came out, and tried the remote a few days ago. Turns out that it won't connect at all. It keeps saying "disconnected".
    I have been in touch with DJI, but their service sucks. Their emails are totally redundant, they don't seem to understand English as they are giving me solutions that have nothing to do with my problem, and that don't work.
    One person at DJI told me to reset the remote and gave me one method - rc off, hold c1, c2, video button and push camera wheel, and then cycle on. Another person at DJI told me to turn on RC and then hold down c1, c2 and shutter button, then cycle rc off and on.
    Needless to say, nothing worked, and now they're telling me to send the remote in for repairs? What on earth?
    It was used once, and now doesn't work? Any other ideas that anyone has would be greatly appreciated.





    Thanks in advance,

    Bruce
     
  2. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    You likely need to upgrade the firmware on that radio.
     
  3. Eye in the sky

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hi Kilrah,

    Thanks so much for your reply.
    The only problem is how do I upgrade the firmware if the remote doesn't connect to the tablet/phone? It says "disconnected" in the top status bar, but the phone does show that it's charging off the usb port.
     
  4. DodgeP

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    40
    I don't use Samsung devices but most likely it's a permission issue somewhere. Can you take whichever device is working and try to use it, along with the cable on the controller that won't connect?
     
  5. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    3,867
    Ok - If not done already you will need to update the slave controller to v1.6 as the encryption changed last time a remote firmware update was issued.
    Your master is updated along with your aircraft but the slave will be unable to 'see' the aircraft telemetry etc since they are currently on different encryption methods.
    Make sure your aircraft and master remote remains OFF for the entire update process.
    Fire up your slave remote and tablet and make sure they are connected to the internet
    Let it sit for a few minutes to allow the tablet to both read what firmware is currently on your slave remote AND compare it with what is sitting on DJI servers (currently v1.6).
    After a couple of minute you should get a message in the app that says an update is required.
    Follow the prompts and allow it to update over the internet (do NOT turn on your aircraft or master remote while this is updating).

    Once completed you should have a working Master/Slave system again.
     
  6. Eye in the sky

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks so much for your reply.
    Maybe I'm missing something or not understanding the response properly, but for some reason, the remote won't connect to the tablet/phone etc. I can't update anything at all because it just says "disconnected".
    I left the tablet connected with DJI Go app running for 10 minutes. Nothing, except the remote beeping to let me it was still on.
    I'm using the same tablet and phone with the same usb cords on the master, and having no problems with that at all. Therefore, in my limited understanding, I don't think it's a permission issue.
     
    #6 Eye in the sky, Jul 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2016
  7. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    How far is "quite a while ago"?
    The remote might still be on a version that needs it to be updated using a USB thumb drive. Try that.
     
    Eye in the sky likes this.
  8. Eye in the sky

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    I'll try and get back to you shortly. Thanks.
     
  9. Eye in the sky

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    Quick question, can i just try with the latest update or should I try with an earlier one?
     
  10. Eye in the sky

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    Okay, here's the update.

    I reset the RC (again), put in a usb with version 1.3 and the remote started beeping fast and flashing a red light Not good.
    I called DJI (again) and they sent me a file to totally reset the remote. I tried that, and the remote is no longer flashing red or beeping, it's just sitting there sweetly with a solid red light and nothing else. After everything they suggested, it's still not doing anything.
    I'm hoping that someone else has some great ideas for me.

    Thanks in advance,

    Bruce.
     
  11. JJ_2016

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Its supposed to beep fast and blink while it updates its firmware. Its annoyingly loud and goes on forever until finished. Atleast this is the case on newer firmwares.

    I think maybe you have aborted a firmware update and have to try again.

    If you plug the USB in the computer it should be a ".log" file there after update. It will tell you the update result.
     
  12. Eye in the sky

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    I think it's supposed to blink blue and make 4 short tones over and over while updating. This was blinking red and just beeping without any breaks.
     
  13. JJ_2016

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Yes you are right. Forgot that. Found this in a pdf i downloaded somewhere. Maybe its helpfull:
     
  14. Eye in the sky

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    Charging the rc now, I'll try this a little later. Really upset that a brand new/used once remote doesn't work after an update and they're telling me to send it in for repairs.
     
  15. Eye in the sky

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    Still nothing working. Getting desperate. Any other ideas? How do I tell if the usb port has stopped working?
     
  16. Briski

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know this sounds absurd but have you tried pulling USB cable from phone and then pushing back in?
     
  17. Cgland

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    There is a small button on the aircraft that you need to press after the c1/c2 sequence that will link the bird up
     
  18. Cgland

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
  19. Eye in the sky

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    The issue isn't with the bird (I think), the issue is that the remote won't connect with the tablet at all. "Disconnected " is all that comes up on the status bar of the tablet. I've tried unplugging and replugging, using different cables, different tablets and nothing works.

    Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk
     
  20. Cgland

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Try it