Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

redundancy

Discussion in 'Matrice 600' started by mikeL, Sep 22, 2016.

  1. mikeL

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi,

    I am looking at replacing my Inspire with a M600 for building inspection work due to the longer flight time and increased redundancy.

    Am I correct in that the M600 can fly following the lost of a single battery or propellor/motor/esc - and with the pro version of the A3 there is redundancy in the GPS system?

    Is there any redundancy with the flight computer itself? i.e. if the A3 were to fail what would the aircraft do?

    Many thanks,

    Mike
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    You are correct.
    Redundancy in both the GPS and the Magnetometer (compass) as well as accelerometers and gyros (IMU's)
    Multiple power bus also gives redundancy in batteries.
    However, if your flight controller fails - you crash! :p
     
    davehrot likes this.
  3. erikgraham

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    New York and Philadelphia
    You might want to check one out in person if you haven't already. The Matrice 600 is a big beast. I call mine the Monstrous 600. Depending on where your inspection work is, you might prefer the size of the Inspire.
     
    davehrot likes this.
  4. mikeL

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes I have some some research and you are right the M600 is big! I might try and find an s800 evo new for sale - could that be converted to fly with two batteries? I have also found a switching unit that can run two flight computers!

    Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk
     
  5. Captain_Kangaroo

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mike,

    Are you still looking for an S800?

    I have an Evo i'm selling. Its done about 6 months light work and flies great. Comes with a GH3 Zenmuse. I use to fly this using two 5200mah packs which gave some piece of mind.

    Let me know if your still interested.

    Cheers

    Neil
     
  6. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Anything can be modified to run a parallel power bus and can be done simply on the PDB with some soldering skills and some heavy AWG cabling. ;)
    I'm curious on the flight controller switcher - have you got a link to it?
    Thanks