Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Risk and Reward

Reaction score
I have decided to ground my Inspire 1 until DJI come up with a firmware that actually works.

There are lots of users out there having no issues at all and there are others like myself who have lost an Inspire 1 to the dreaded "Fly Away" incident. I don't care about the argument put forward by "Experts" that its just switching to ATTI mode. The simple truth is the Inspire 1 for what it cost should stay in the selected mode and present no surprises by deciding to drop GPS signal.

The root cause of this problem is piss poor software engineering by DJI. I know a little about this topic as its what I do for a living I am on the Quality side of the process. The things I have seen from DJI indicate to me that they do have proper software quality processes in place. There is further evidence to this in their Product Support process which is the worst I have ever experienced.

I doubt DJI will ever have decent software engineering processes and the only way the Inspire 1 will be fixed is by end user flight log data from crashed Inspire 1's

DJI is doing pretty well on the innovation front, but I agree: when it comes to Quality Engineering and Support, they need to bring in some outside help to get their ship in order.

I could help them get straightened out, but I already have a day job and I can't move to China.

Sure wish they'd recognize their issues though and recruit some senior software executive talent and give them free reign to get DJI on track in terms of quality and support. Having a CEO who was the chief innovator and original engineer may be their blind side in this regard.

A company can only ride the innovation train for so long with serious quality and support issues before more customer-focused competitors begin to catchup and erode their market position.

Last edited:
One point I'd like to make re the dreaded fly away.