Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Rolling back FW on R/C

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by The Editor, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    OK, don't all get excited just yet but I have raised the request over on Driving Force and also direct to DJI R&D to have the ability to roll back the firmware as we can on the aircraft.
    I am assuming people will not care whether it is accomplished via the app or thru USB but more having the ability rather than how it is executed.

    No promises but we will see what they come up with.
     
  2. Steven Powter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    87
    Thanks Editor... i am interested in rolling back the FW, if that's what it takes to get the performance back on the inspire ..
     
    alabamajack137 likes this.
  3. seanmclean

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    83
    Was there a recent RC Firmware update that reduced performance?
     
  4. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    160
    There is a way to roll back that was posted on PP a while back but it's not easy and you need the older FW versions to start with.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. Mark Mahoney

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    32
    This is my oldest FW still saved...

    WM610_FW_V01.02.00.17.bin
     
  6. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    OK, first of all I make no promises or endorse this procedure since it is a DJI R&D shortcut/function - I offer no support other than to describe the process nor do I guarantee it will work for your particular scenario. You guys asked for it so here it is.
    Right then, for those of you that want to try this or have a need or desire to roll back the RC firmware.
    Try the following:
    Make sure your device (tablet) is connected to the internet and also to your remote control via the USB cable.
    Have your tablet switched on.
    Turn on the R/C. (Await the usual trust message if using iOS)
    Fire up the DJI Go App.
    As soon as you get to the screen where you would select camera view, press and hold your finger on the Acadamy' symbol (little hat top right of screen). Hold your finger there for up to 30 seconds, do not lift it up.
    A screen will appear (on its own in Android but after you lift your finger on iOS) that should give you the current firmware on your RC. Click on this and a rolling menu will appear to give you the option of any firmware.
    Select the FW of your choice and click download.
    Once downloaded click install.
    Enjoy your downgraded RC firmware.

    Don't say I never give you guys anything. ;)
     
  7. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    160
    Well that did not take long to get out.

    Not seeing prev FW version on the public app though, guess there is nothing on the server yet



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    #7 Mad_angler1, Mar 28, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2016
  8. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    It should work - although of course we are talking DJI so this could just as easily move things do DEFCON 5 and destabilise the world econonomy in one foul swoop!
    There maybe some teething problems - as I say, I can't guarantee this will work for everybody.
    I think a more permanent solution might be on the way.
     
  9. dellycem

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    19
  10. seanmclean

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    83
    Why would you need to do this?
     
  11. seanmclean

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    83
    Hmm, only gives me option to go to 1.5.40_test
     
  12. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    160
    Don't believe this is ready for public consummation yet



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk