Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

RX100 / other camera options

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by ianwood, Jul 5, 2015.

  1. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles


    Video is not that great but I am intrigued by the possibilities. I1 should have plenty of lift capacity for these larger cams. Anyone have any details on gimbal integration and mounting?
     
    skylabimaging and IrishSights like this.
  2. Yogi

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    If this is real, I want it. RX100 is brilliant.
    I will not, however, hold my breath.
     
  3. Koptervision

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redwood City, CA
    I wrote this company inquiring about how soon they would deliver . Here is the reply on 6/30/2015:

    Were still developing it.
    Currently were finishing up an development of thermal solutions on the Inspire and M100, after that we will proceed with the RX100/NX500 mount/gimbal, however were having a small team of R&D so it goes not as fast as we want it to be.

    Feel free to ask if you have further questions,
    Best regards, Met vriendelijke groeten,
    Rob Tiebie
    www.dronexpert.nl
    www.facebook.com/dronexpert (for latest updates)​
     
  4. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    I wonder if they've integrated to the USB interface for the gimbal. Shouldn't be too hard to figure out with the right USB tools.
     
  5. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    USB interface for the Sony cams you mean or Inspire? I'm not aware of any USB interfaces on the Inspire or Inspire X3 cam/gimbal.
     
  6. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    As I understand it, Inspire / P3 use a USB interface between FC and gimbal whereas Phantom / Zenmuse use CAN bus.
     
    qbizzy likes this.
  7. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    I like where this is going
     
    qbizzy likes this.
  8. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Interesting. I know the I1 does have CAN bus as there's a port onboard in the nosecone and on the RC. But it's possible the camera / gimbal is on USB. Where did you hear this?

    If the HW and protocol specs for the gimbal / camera control protocol could be figured out, 3rd parties could in theory make a gimbal for 3rd party cameras.

    Why DJI doesn't make gimbals for the I1 for a few decent 3rd party cameras I have no idea. They would probably triple I1 sales and greatly extend the longevity of the platform, vs keeping the "camera pie" for themselves by keeping the camera / gimbal proprietary.

    Seems very short-sighted to me.
     
  9. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Trying to remember... Maybe it was RCG. I recall it sounding authoritative. It could be wrong though. A scope on the pins would make it pretty easy to figure out.

    I'd much rather DJI just came out with some third party gimbals instead of us trying to hack it together. I've got a P3P but I still prefer to shoot with the P2. Inspire + RX100 or Black Magic Micro would be phenomenal.
     
    damoncooper likes this.
  10. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    I think the inspire is going to be hitting it's limits as far as being able to carry this stuff...it's only got a few hundred grams before you start loosing efficiency.

    As much as I like where this is going, I gotta ask, if you guys have so much interest in carrying different camera/gimbal platforms, why not just build a multicopter to suite those needs and ditch the proprietary components of DJI systems?
     
    Kilrah likes this.
  11. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Inspire seems to have some breathing room for lift but if not, the Matrice certainly does. As for the appeal, Inspire is a great turnkey platform. DJI has worked most all the kinks out. I just want maximum image quality.
     
  12. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Koptervision likes this.
  13. markus_e

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any idea how we could mount a RX100 to the inspire the simple way (without gimbal) to start testing. Would use the time lapse app to make 1 picture every 2 or 5 seconds automatically.

    Would like to see the dronexpert mount but they just told it will take some more weeks, which is what they said already months before.
    Would like to use it this summer but no option to buy a solution for RX100 yet...Thanks for any thoughts
     
  14. Firefly_AI

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've been trying to establish the 20 pin layout for my I1 for a while now. If I could get to the bottom of that, I'm convinced I could rig up an external GCU and camera. Information is hard to come by I'm afraid.