Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

School me on FPV transmitters

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Outta Control, Apr 8, 2015.

  1. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    Looking to add a second camera on the I1 and wanted to know what has and has not worked.

    What I am looking for is video quality, range, in a small form factor.
     
  2. 777Ben

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Immersion 5.8G 600mW.
    I've used lots of transmitters and now I just use these. FatShark also has a camera that has a connector for the Immersion Tx
    Ditch the stock antenna and get a Cloverleaf or Mushroom antenna. Google Circular Wireless and IB Crazy (RCGroups)
    Inspire is 2.4G so no RF issues.
     
  3. 777Ben

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I assume you need an FPV camera. The analog video Tx is only good for about 600 lines of resolution, so that pretty much caps the video quality (that's why DJI came out with the Lighbridge system).
     
  4. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You

    The second camera will be a FLIR TAU 2 so yeah nothing super fancy.
     
  5. 777Ben

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used one of the Flir Tau's a few years back (on a fixed wing for the Navy SEALs). Probably not the "2". I believe they have both digital and analog outputs. I used the analog output with a video Tx (same thing, but that one was on 1.2G). Worked fine. Make sure the Tau's analog output is grounded (signal and ground from the output). If you just use the signal wire, it will appear not to work. The Immersion 5.8 should work just fine. Just check to see if the Tau 2 has an analog output.
     
  6. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You

    Yes the TAU 2 has an analog out