Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Shitty Osmo Image Question

Discussion in 'Osmo (Handheld Gimbal)' started by frasmac, Feb 15, 2016.

  1. frasmac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Can anyone offer some advice on if I am doing something wrong with the Osmo to create this god-aweful image quality.

    I've seen it in a lot of my shots but this is the best/worst example so far.

    It was quite dark in that rainforest and it was early in the morning so I think the iso was crazy high so I'm guessing that's it. However you do kind of see That ugly blockiness in osmo footage all the time to lesser degrees.

    I'm not sure which slow motion setting I used.

    Also I am using d-log now with everything else at default.

    Any advice on how to avoid murdering my footage like this would be appreciated.

    A link to that footage on drop box is below. Thanks for any advice.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/jjark3co6n51ju8/Osmo Image.mp4?dl=0

    Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
     
  2. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Unless you have camera experience, you will need to learn a lot. How high did you have the ISO?
    If it was dark then you will find these cams useless.
     
    frasmac likes this.
  3. frasmac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've used a dslr for years and I understand the basics. I am wondering if there is something else going on with the Osmo. If by "these cams" you mean "the osmo" them you're confirming my suspicions that high iso is the issue. I didn't set anything manually so I don't know what the iso was. There is something funny about the Osmo image generally though.

    Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
     
  4. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Ok... if you have cam experience you should know that you need to set the cam yourself, not auto as Im sure the ISO would be very high. Just give it another try and set the ISO yourself. I use a Mark 3 5D and i have tried the X5 to shoot but its nowhere going to be any good unless you use lighting.
     
  5. frasmac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks a lot. Fun times!

    Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
     
  6. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Yes, but give it another try and compare. Keep the ISO low.
     
    frasmac likes this.
  7. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    Slowmo = high frame rate = shutter speed has to stay significantly higher than in normal mode = either you need more light, or ISO will have to shoot up to compensate.
    "These cameras" (i.e. all small sensor cameras) already have a hard time in low light, so low light + high frame rate = crud.
     
    frasmac likes this.
  8. Casey Preston

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    30
    It looks like you managed to capture the worst footage possible. The resolution labeled as "SLO" takes a crop of the sensor and that hurts IQ. Also, the bitrate is way to small to give a decent result for SLO. I don't think SLO is a useless setting, but 60p gives a better image. D-Log reduces contrast, pulls up the blacks, and tends to make images look less sharp. I would also guess that your ISO is maxed out.

    I would suggest shooting in 60p and slowing down in post, using "none" as the picture profile, and getting enough light so that the ISO doesn't go over 400.
     
    frasmac likes this.
  9. frasmac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks. That helps a lot. Much appreciated.

    Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
     
  10. frasmac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Great answer. That really helps. Thanks so much.

    Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk