Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Shoot Stills while recording movie

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by ronsonwhitaker, Jan 28, 2015.

  1. ronsonwhitaker

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Since there is two buttons is it possible to shot a still while there is a movie recording.

    I assume it's the same as the Phantom and you need to stop recording movie, shoot still, start recording movie.
     
  2. ronsonwhitaker

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  3. Wiski23

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yeah not a feature i like... Look at the hero4. Shoots in 4k and takes still every few seconds, so why cant this be integrated in to this camera?
     
  4. diverreb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    25
    You can always pull stills from the Video. If you are shooting in 4k I imagine the quality would be pretty good.

    Richie
     
  5. ronsonwhitaker

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm an amateur photographer so I prefer largest image size but that is a definite possibility.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  6. douglas.brownlie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    35
    That's exactly what I do. I shoot in 4k and pull the stills from that using Premier Pro.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  7. jonnyvermont

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    8
    I pull stills from QuickTime. Do any of you know what the equivalent shot I get this way versus taking a still? In other words, how many megapixels does it equal.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. dronie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    A screen grab (grabbing or pulling a still from a video clip) will never be as good quality as a photo taken in camera mode. But if you don't care too much about image quality it is an easy way to do it.

    File sizes (depending on various shooting conditions like light, subject, movement etc.) are around:
    • 5MB - JPG
    • 25MB - DNG
    • 10MB - Screengrab
    So even if screengrabs (grabbed or pulled from a video clip) are lower quality, they are much bigger in file size than JPG's.

    Remember, FILE SIZE, is not equal to PIXEL SIZE.

    I pull stills from QuickTime. Do any of you know what the equivalent shot I get this way versus taking a still? In other words, how many megapixels does it equal.

    You get the same amount of pixels as the video setting shows. But of a lower quality than the camera produces. PS: remember screengrabs are blurred if there's movement in the subject or camera, so ideally take a grab from a calm scene with the camera steady.

    Updated: specified that when talking about "screen grabs", I was referring to grabbing a still from a video clip, not a regular screen grab, since not all got that.
     
    #8 dronie, Feb 23, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2015
  9. Chuck Lawson

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    D/FW
    If you're shooting 4K video, a still image should be 8mp.
     
  10. Tim Whittaker

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Hawkes Bay , New Zealand
    Screen grabs and "pulling a still" are VERY different. One grabs the image you have on your monitor and the other captures a single frame