Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Supported Mobile Devices.......

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by lrwskyfilms, Nov 19, 2014.

  1. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    From the DJI website;
    "Mobile Device System Requirements
    iOS version 7.1 or later
    Android version 4.1.2 or later
    Supported Mobile Devices
    * iPhone 6 Plus, iPhone 6, iPhone 5S, iPhone 5C, iPhone 5, iPad Air 2, iPad Mini 3, iPad Air, iPad Mini 2, iPad 4
    * Samsung Note 4、Samsung Note 3、Samsung S5、Sony Z3 EXPERIA
    * Note: It is recommended that you use a tablet for the best experience"

    What's the best option? What about a screen/device with an HDMI connection?
    Thx for any help, cheers Mark
     
  2. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    I'll be using an iPad Mini 2. Seems like the best balance of screen size and portability.
    I reckon a tablet with an HDMI output is a good shout though. That way you can have the display on the screen and use the HDMI output to mirror it to another display.
    It's a pity that DJI don't allow the app and the HDMI to output video at the same time.
     
  3. DustyVisor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    I have the iPad 3, so it looks like I will need to upgrade, which is a shame because the iPad still works great. Are those supported devices required for the master and slave controllers? Or just the slave to output the video?
     
  4. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    GUerneville Ca.
    Eric Said any monitor with an hdmi output on the interview video..that would be great if it is true.
     
  5. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Above; hope so, looking forward to other options especially HDMI, otherwise I can see me joining the "i" crowd. :)
     
  6. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Well after a long enough spell on the internet, it looks like the iPad Air 2 is the best option (IMHO) if you want a tablet to do other things as well as a screen for the Inspire, another £500, at least I'm not married so I can't get a divorce. LOL.
     
    DustyVisor likes this.
  7. DustyVisor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Bwahahahaha!
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  8. hbmak

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am leaning towards an iPad Mini 2 with celluar service, if I am reading the Inspire 1 "draft" manual correctly Dynamic Home Point will only work on GPS enabled devices. This is on page 23 of the "draft" manual. Will a full size iPad fit in the bracket on the Inspire remote?
     
  9. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    I plan to just wifi tether my iPad to my iPhone. The iPad will then get the GPS location from the iPhone.
     
  10. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    hbmak; Hi, the bracket is adjustable and I'm thinking the same, it looks like it will take a full iPad, but will take an iPad Air 2?

    Maybe Tahoe Ed will know, pls. :)

    Cheers Mark
     
  11. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    #11 lrwskyfilms, Nov 24, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2014
  12. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    GUerneville Ca.
    what about for those with two controllers i wonder? i was hoping to use my mac computer..but it seems you need to install the app on whatever you use so it has to be a mobile device as opposed to a p.c. or mac computer.
    it would such to have to use my friggin i phone as it is not the most visible device. i was wondering if an hdmi monitor would work for the slave remote? anybody know for sure?
     
  13. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    GUerneville Ca.
    p
    probably at least the master to get dynamic home point..i am praying any hdmi monitor will work for the slave.(beat me whip me!} lol.
     
    DustyVisor likes this.
  14. FangsCPO

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Chula Vista, CA
    This is the downside of getting the I1 because I'm now, it would seem, that I need to purchase a Mini iPad 2 or 3 (since they seem to work the best.....but I'm a Samsung Galaxy guy) to receive me video feed and access to the other awesome features of the App.
     
  15. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Depends on what Samsung device you have, some work great too.