Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Time to sell both my Inspires!

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by GizaDog, Nov 1, 2015.

  1. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    Well people…I know DJI wants to protect their image and billion dollar company but I think its time that I sell both my Inspires and look for a better UAV solution. The reason I say this is with DJI’s embedded No-Fly Zones I can't complete my work. We need a machine that allows me (a 11 year drone pilot) to fly within these No-Fly Zones at ground level. Today I tried to complete a ground level to 40 feet shoot (Sunday morning outside baseball stadium) but because of this blanket No-Fly zones I had to turn down the project.

    The Inspire is not a toy but a professional tool! If DJI is going to limit us professionals from using this tools, we need to start looking at other options. So if anyone knows of a superior UAV I’m open to suggestions.
     
  2. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Look into the turbo ace matrix quadcopters..
    wow hobbies.com. .
     
    emulsiondown likes this.
  3. SuperPete

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    27
    and I believe it's just a beginning, once DOT gets involved little more no fly zone will go to 5 miles around airports and all of the no fly zone areas including government buildings...
    Where can you fly?
    Thanks DJI, you have time to keep pumping firmware updates with new no fly zones and can't figure out how to change drone name if we want to.

    GizaDog, try flashing your inspire all the way back to 1.2 firmware, reformat your memory cards for camera, they hold some of the info on no fly zones, take your iPad off line and go back on app, that should bring you back to good old days without no fly zones.
     
  4. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Member when Naza Lite was hacked to run 4.02fw from naza v2. Turned every $160 fc into a $300 one.

    I can't imagine it would be terribly difficult for someone who knows what they are looking for to run into the n1 system and delete the nfz fly zones.
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  5. andreweio1

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Amersham, Bucks
    GizaDog

    I totally agree with you and have mentioned on the DJI Developer site but will no doubt fall on deaf ears. I have had many replies including feedback that numerous NFZs are actually in the wrong location which may in tun cause friction with the FAA.

    Whilst I understand DJI's rationale to protect their business from Hobbyists flying in protected areas, surely it's also illegal for them to restrict commercial pilots from flying where they are permits to fly. It would not take them much to lift the NFZ's to pilots who show they have the right to fly as w all have to sign into the app to use it.

    Like GizaDog if I am restricted for much longer I will have to move platform to allow me to recover my costs that allowed me to become a commercial pilot in the first place. It's the national air authority who enforces airspace not DJI.

    I'm sure that if along with phantom pilots forum if every commercial pilot emailed DJI then they may be persuaded to reconsider their position.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    JJH, Gary E and turbodronepilot like this.
  6. SuperPete

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    27
    AMAN to all of that above.
    I have few small airports near me that are not used at all, other than once a week and if they hold 5 mile radius no fly zone, I'll be screwed all the way, I'll have to take time off work to drive somewhere everytime I need to fly even for fun and practice.

    Anyway, I see firmware hacks coming up in near future, I already did my 32 channel hack and that was easy, I can almost see someone doing no flyzone unlock in near future.
    GizaDog, stick around, try what I told you earlier, we will overcome that :)
     
    Ron Knox and turbodronepilot like this.
  7. Mike Mas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Blairsville Georgia
    DSC_0676.JPG Wow maybe I should hang on to my Phantom 2's they could be worth big money the way this is looking.
     
  8. Mike Mas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Blairsville Georgia
  9. Mike Mas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Blairsville Georgia
    Here's a video for a closer look - this is a more high end machine than the Inspire be sure to check out the transmitter makes the DJI trans look like a toy!

     
    #9 Mike Mas, Nov 1, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2015
  10. pgaucher

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I certainly feel for you. That's one of the reasons I've pulled back from the world of aerial services and shifted towards content curating and stock imagery. Luckily I'm out of the USA, but can only assume restrictions will become more and more everywhere around the world.

    Question: do the no-fly zones also apply for people who have the s-1000? My guess is that DJI may be seeing the Inspire as a glorified toy as opposed to a tool focused on professionals. However, given the push for the X5R, it's hardly a toy anymore.
     
    Gary E likes this.
  11. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    341
    I'm afraid DJI does regard the Inspire1 as a toy.
    This is a reaction from DJI/Tahoe_Ed on the DJI forum:
    (had I seen this before I would have thought twice about getting the I1)

    The A2 can disable the no fly zones and the WKM never had them. These controllers were meant to be our Professional versions. What we are now seeing is that the consumer products are trying to be used by "professional" users. You are creating a difficult position for us as a company.

    However I recall that DJI positioned the Inspire1 as a compact and all in one solution for both professionals and demanding consumers. Or maybe that's just how I wanted to perceive things at that time, I don't know. I do know that in a lot of teaser clips DJI showed professional film crews using the Inspire with dual controller, which was the main reason for me to cancel my order for a s1000 and go for the I1 package. After the launch of the Phantom3 everything changed and suddenly the I1 became the luxury version in the Phantom line, using the same flight controller and software.

    ........You are creating a difficult position for us as a company. ......
    So it's all OUR fault! Not DJI's. Your see?

    They obviously can't help it that they needed to convince the general public that a Phantom3 is just a flying toy camera that is so simple and easy to operate that even my dog could fly it.
     
    #11 lake_flyer, Nov 2, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2015
    Gary E and Outta Control like this.
  12. andreweio1

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Amersham, Bucks
    Interesting as I thought the inspire flight controller was based upon the A2


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  13. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    341
    I thought so too, and you're correct I still think. But it is only based on the A2, it's not the A2 from the S1000.
     
  14. Mike Mas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Blairsville Georgia
    The consumer - professional statement does not have any merit when you consider the the Inspire has nearly a $6,000 price tag with some basic extras. This is surely not a hobby category drone!
     
    Gary E and GizaDog like this.
  15. Morgon

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD
    I absolutely hate and regret advocating this sort of thing, especially as I genuinely like Ed and respect his job (as well as DJI itself), but that statement combined with the observations of how DJI marketed the Inspire to professional use, unquestionably screams 'False Advertising' lawsuit.

    If the Inspire was marketed as a professional-level device, and the professional-level flight controllers are able to have NFZ turned off, then the Inspire must be given that capability, or else DJI has duped everyone who purchased this specifically for professional-level work.

    @lake_flyer - Do you have a link to that thread on the DJI forum?
     
    #15 Morgon, Nov 2, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2015
    GizaDog likes this.
  16. SuperPete

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    27
    We all drive cars, right? WE have speed limits on freeways and ONE WAY do not enter in one way zones, correct?
    DO we see car manufacturers limiting our maximum speed limit? They can, but they dont, because government's job is to put law in place and our job is to follow, police is to enforce that.
    SO why is DJI forcing us where to fly and where not to?
    FAA and DOT can simply say what do do and hat not to, I am ok to register my drone with FAA and that's is reasonable, but PLEASE, dont take away my right to chose where to fly.
    DJI will realize this sooner or later and after all of this chatter will start loosing business on sales of inspire 1 and pro. Someone will come up with hacked firmware for inspire and we all win.
    If people hack iphone firmware and code, what is inspire? I am sure china is all over it already, just give it time.
     
    GizaDog likes this.
  17. kcobello

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Ransomville NY
    You know all this talk about hacked firmware, ignoring the NFZ, and disrespecting DJI and the FAA may only cause more hardship down the road for some or all of us. I understand the frustration. I have 3 airports (Class B), a few sensitive areas, Niagara Falls, The Canadian border, Historic sites, State Parks all around me. What I am trying to do is keep quiet, respect the areas that are sensitive, get permissions, respect the laws that are put in place, because some people are making stupid decisions on where they should be flying Multirotors, and WAIT to see where the chips fall when it all CALMS down which it will. Creating this fight with all the parties involved may create or is creating more drama and paranoia.. Relax and lets see if we can all play nice in airspace we don't own....:) Kevin
     
  18. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    Kevin, keeping quite is just what the governments want. The point on this post is to state that DJI's restrictions need to be revised based on locations, events and opening up the low flight abilities on the crafts. All I needed to do is shoot a low to 40 foot high project well below anything and not near anything dangerous! These low based flights need to be opened up now or DJI is going to start loosing customers for other products. Its that simple.
     
    Gary E and JoeyJoe like this.
  19. SuperPete

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    27
    you are correct about respecting the law, but dont you think that if we dont speak up thing will go bad for us? FAA and DOT with DJI will make what is in their interest and we all screwed all around.
    If it was for them to decide there will be absolutely no fly zone everywhere and they are happy that way.
    But anyway, you are right
     
  20. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    341