Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

update ?

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by leprechaun, Mar 19, 2015.

  1. leprechaun

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi I just receive my Inspire 1 today . I am going through setup install etc . The app is say that I need to update the firmware is this necessary as reading the most recent firmware update are causing people a lot of issues ?

    Thanks

    Ollie
     
  2. m1ch1gan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    the Inspire should fly without the update, but the app will keep nagging you about it. that's what a friend of mine is seeing with his. I think he is waiting for me to get back to town before he updates his because he is nervous about breaking it.

    I updated my Inspire and two controllers without any issues a few weeks ago. I used my 16gb SD card that came with my Inspire to update the camera and bird and used a 4gb usb 2.0 thumb drive to update the two controllers. I did the copter/camera/battery update first, then my master controller, then my slave controller. only issue I had at all was that it took about 30 minutes to update my master controller.
    you have to remember to delete the .txt file created during the update before going on to the next device.
     
  3. leprechaun

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1

    Hi so is there an actual procedure to follow set by step online someware ?
     
  4. m1ch1gan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    It is on the download page right next to the firmware download.
    Try this shortcut: http://download.dji-innovations.com/downloads/inspire_1/en/How_To_Upgrade_Firmware_en.pdf
    Here's a link to the firmware download: http://download.dji-innovations.com/downloads/inspire_1/en/Inspire_1_Firmwarev1.2.0.17_en.zip

    You have to unzip the firmware file and put it in the root directory of an SD card to upgrade the aircraft/camera/battery. The Inspire will not see the upgrade file if it is anywhere other than the root directory. Same with the controllers.
     
  5. leprechaun

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for that one question I have two extra battery's do these all need to be updated some how ?
     
  6. sdjackaerial

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    84
    ya, I've wondered that about my spare batteries too
     
  7. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    If the batteries require an update, the app will prompt this and they will automatically update from the aircraft.
     
  8. leprechaun

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    The link for firmware download is not working and neither is it on the DJI site have they removed it ?
     
  9. leprechaun

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi just did updates do I leave firmware bin files etc on the SD card ?
     
  10. huppe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    317
    Leave it there,so in case you place another battery it might update that one too.Allthough I think there is no update required.Just in case and it won't do any harm