Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Upgrading to X5 from Inspire V1

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by andrenutini, Jun 7, 2016.

  1. andrenutini

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen some posts about upgrading to the X5 with mixed results but they're all quite old. I'm wondering what people's experience or recommendations are for upgrading from and Inspire V1 to the X5. I'm not the most familiar with the forums so forgive me if this is a lame question.

    I undertand I might have slightly shorter fly times due to motor power/effeciency difference between the V1 and V2 but is there any major problems I need to think of besides the new mounting plate etc (and updating firmware)? Thinking the DJI 15mm and Olympus 45mm rather than the Olympus 12mm since the X5 without lens isn't currently in stock on B&H right now.
     
  2. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    No issues at all.
    Buy X5, install mounting plate, attach X5, upgrade to Inspire Pro firmware, IMU calibration, fly.
     
    Kenneth Sands likes this.
  3. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    467
    Location:
    South West Florida
    I would check to see if Ralph at FlyHighUsa has the camera/no lens in stock. I am pretty sure he has the lenses also. He is a trusted vendor here.
     
  4. unyks

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    176
    Did the upgrade (from V2) to X5 a few days ago, no issues, worked like charm. Follow the instructions on how to upgrade the firmware!

    Chris
     
    Kenneth Sands likes this.
  5. Cyclops

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    37
    Well as others have just pointed out it's really not too difficult. Mechanically it's very straightforward but checking which firmware to upgrade to requires a bit more concentration and research.

    However be prepared for a very different flying experience as the increased weight and position of the X5 camera definitely altered the way my Inspire 1 flew. For me the Inspire Vers 1 flys a lot better with the X3 camera. However, the dramatic improvement in image quality makes it all worthwhile.

    If you can try and wait to get hold of the Olympus 12mm. From all the posts on this forum it seems to come out on top. I've found it a lovely little lens and have just bought a set of Tiffin 46mm ND Filters to use on extra bright days.
     
    Kenneth Sands likes this.
  6. mfinn1223

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great upgrade, we just did it ourselves a few months ago. You will loose some flight time (down to 11 min on the 47 batteries) but the picture quality is amazing. We primarily use it for still photographs and the quality is amazing (leaps and bounds above the x3). If you are looking for the camera w/o lens, Zach over at Drone-Works.com has them in stock and is great to work with. Tell him the Mike from Annapolis sent you over to him...he gave us a nice deal on ours w/ the mounting hardware and riser kit.
     
  7. multifoto.fi

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have an Inspire V1 with X3 and added X5 with Olympus 12mm. Shorter flight times (ca -4min) & noticably heavier copter to fly, motors & batteries run a bit warmer but not much. Requires more effort to get good quality due to more things to keep track of (aperture, focus etc). Considerable improvment in still quality, not so much on video. Actually still use the X3 for video most of the time, it is sufficient for what I do, flight times are longer, and easier to use. Also, the X5 with Olympus 12mm creates a lot of barrel distortion on video. Dislike the X5 memory card slot, difficult to eject the microSD & easy to loose the card in the field.

    Overall, well worth it & would recommend it as long as you plan to keep the X3 as well.
     
    Kenneth Sands likes this.
  8. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,528
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    I've flown both V1 and V2 with the X5 and they are not that different.
     
  9. Brandon Rowe

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have only flown with the v1 and it does great with the x5.
     
  10. Photo Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    I finally bit the bullet and ordered an X5 for my v1. Can anyone tell me the procedure to upgrade firmware for this modification? Will I need to use the v2 pro firmware?
     
  11. Photo Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    Would you please tell me what differences you did notice? I just bought the X5 for my v1 and I'd like to know what to expect. Also, will I need to download the Inspire 1 Pro F/W for the X5 and install it?
     
  12. Johnsimatos

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    8
    I just got mine too. Picked up an Olympus 12mm and took it out for a flight yesterday. It's fantastic, big difference to the X3. Im also running a V1.

    Yes you need to download the pro firmware. I'm running 1.9x and not 1.10x yet, have no issues at all. Flies better than the X3. No issue with horizon even at full roll, and takes fantastic pictures. Pick up the Oly 12mm. I'm running two 11g filters on the front and have a coin balancing the tilt axis on the gimbal and now have perfect balance. Spectacular machine and worth the money.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Photo Jim and SanCap like this.
  13. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    467
    Location:
    South West Florida
    Why 2, 11 gram filters?
     
    Photo Jim likes this.
  14. Johnsimatos

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    8
    [​IMG]

    I'm following this guide, and it was the closest I could get, with the 22g on the front it rests perfectly when the inspire is off. Which is ideal as it does less damage to your gimbal.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    467
    Location:
    South West Florida
    My question was why 2 filters? OK one filter and a lens shade I understand but using 2 filters will not help final image quality.
     
  16. Photo Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks for the help!
     
  17. Johnsimatos

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    8
    I said it was as close as I could get for the weight. The difference is negligible I'm not doing print here. I have to order the shade in from the states so I wanted something in the meantime - sorry I should have mentioned that before.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    SanCap likes this.
  18. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    467
    Location:
    South West Florida
    Gotcha, I switch thru my 3 lenses, filters, and sun shades on a regular basis. I use blue tac for quick and easy balancing since the variables... are ....variable. This works in case you do not have the screw on filters etc. Grab a little bit and smash it on the camera where needed. It is actually quick and easy and not permanant. https://www.amazon.com/Blu-Tack-060...e=UTF8&qid=1483583591&sr=8-1&keywords=blu-tac
     
    Johnsimatos likes this.
  19. Johnsimatos

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ha, that's a really good idea. Thanks man.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk