Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Video 101 anyone?

Reaction score
I primarily do aerial photogrammetry, meaning just stills and not very familiar with the video world. Looking at an Inspire 2 (X5S) for this, but also what I guess would be called "recreational video" as I am an amateur at best here. With my P4 I currently shoot video in .MP4. I am not an apple guy and .MOV is just out of the question - way invested otherwise.

So it looks like this .DNG format is what Inspire 2 works in - will basic Adobe Premier Pro work with this - anything I should know about working in this format? Are the stills going to be in this format as well?

And while I am at it - does the I2 have 2 separate file memory systems? A bit confused here.....

Obviously I am not well versed here - read some of the video codec discussions and get lost - so can someone get me going with the basics.

Thanks.

Last edited:
I'd be happy to. Having started with still photography myself 15 or 20 years ago I remember making the transition to video back when I did it. Plus we sell everything so I can talk you through the concepts and how they relate to the various gear that you might consider (I2 and X5S being a great choice).

Where are you located? And if you want to PM your phone number I'd be happy to call and talk you through the basics and get you understanding all the choices.

Thanks!

Michael

www.FloridaDroneSupply.com

Hi LJCF,

You are going to really enjoy video. A few things from your post.

The .mov extension can be confusing. This indicates an Apple Quicktime "container" but does not specify which codec is contained. All of the Prores options will have a .mov extension but so will h.264/5 if you were to select .mov rather than .mp4 in settings (both are just containers). The important thing to know here is that you can work seamlessly with .mov files using a Windows editor.