Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Warning! DJI GO App incompatible with Samsung Tab S2

Discussion in 'DJI Go App' started by artheck, Apr 25, 2016.

  1. artheck

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yesterday I have purchased Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 9,7 inch to replace my old iPad mini 2. Everything was fine until I tried to go to library and edit the videos. The app crashed everytime I trietd to edit any clip. I reinstalled the app, cleared video cache, tried to import clips from sd card, nothing works. This app is unusable on Galaxy Tab S2. I contacted DJI chat support and they said this tablet is unsupported.
    Now I think of returning the tablet, but it is a shame, as it is a very good tablet and I only have problems with the dji Go app. Do you think it is worth to wait until they fix the video editing? I am so dissapointed with this as I upgraded the tablet specifically to be able to edit videos smoothly...
     
  2. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    artheck likes this.
  3. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,708
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    But since the Tab 2 doesn't appear on the list of supported devices and yet the iPad Mini does - not that much of a surprise!
    i would always advocate garnering peoples opinions on non supported devices BEFORE going out and buying the latest shiny toy if you are going to rely on it as an Inspire/Phantom monitor.
     
  4. artheck

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    If only DJI made this list of supported devices easy to find... Please go to Inspire 1 – DJI GO | DJI - and what you see: app is available @google play, so I assumed it is working on Android tablet. Was I wrong to make such a conclusion by looking at their salesy page?
    I have also mistakengly assumed if I buy a top tablet of one of the largest manufacturers in the world, based on Android OS it will just work fine. Is it wrong? All other apps (I tested more than a dozen) worked great on this tablet. Only the DJI GO app has issues.
    I will be now returning the samsung tablet and switching to iPad mini4.
     
  5. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,708
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    On the downloads page along with the Firmware etc.
    Inspire 1 - Specs, FAQ, manual, video tutorials and DJI GO | DJI
     
  6. Leszek Kedziora

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Warsaw
    I use the app on my Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 9.7 without any problems. It works flawlessly.
     
    niki and Skyhawkvideos like this.
  7. Bryan Conover

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    33
    Android....GO app....Grrr.

    Even the Nvidia Shield has become a lame / staggered experience with crashing and lag...just stay with Apple. IPad Air 2 cost more but muscles the device.
     
    The Editor likes this.
  8. WILLIAM BAKER

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    If you get the DJI app from other place and download from computer to tablet it will work. I have the Samsung E and doing it that way it worked also on my Samsung 3 Tablet.
     
  9. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,708
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    I have to agree with that comment.
    Android is a piece of junk. - I have various incarnations of Android toys here including the Nvidia Shield for beta testing purposes. They are all pants compared to the iPads.
    I operate commercially and will ONLY use the iPad for that purpose since it is the only device that has NEVER given me any issues running differing versions of the GO App and I need to be able to rely on my equipment when working for a client.
     
  10. WILLIAM BAKER

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    The thing I like about the tablet I have it works with Verizon. Can't beat one that you can connect anywhere. As far as Apple been there done that and don't like the close system. But we all can say bad things on either systems.
     
  11. Leszek Kedziora

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Warsaw
    IMHO there are too many iOS fans. I have been using Android for 3 yrs without any problems.
     
    David Baxter likes this.
  12. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    It's not a case of being a fan, it's a case of liking what is best with the Inspire. You have had no problems with Android and that's great, I'm happy for you.

    I own the following devices:

    iPad Air 2
    iPad Air 1
    iPad Mini 2
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Nvidia Shield Tablet
    Google Nexus 6P
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S

    And have used them all with the Inspire. I rank them in the order I have listed them in terms of raw performance of the video stream from the craft. This is for pure frame rate and for dropped frames or stutter.
    The Nvidia Shield Tablet is the best of the Android devices that I own but is still jerky compared to even the iPad Mini 2. The Tab S (while having an utterly fantastic screen) is really poor in comparison to the iOS devices.
     
    The Editor likes this.
  13. David Baxter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Galaxy S7 Edge is real nice with it's Quad-core 2.15GHz and 4GB RAM flawless performance.
     
  14. Skubacb

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    goto settings:about device

    repeatedly tap on 'build number' until developer options are unlocked

    goto settings:developer options and set/verify the following options
    1. USB debugging = OFF
    2. USB configuration = RNDIS, note that rebooting device will reset this to default MTP......
    Also, I always set device to 'airplane mode' to turn off internal radios....

    S2 will run perfect!

    Really dislike when an Apple fan boy or any other fanboy starts a thread with such a biased and untrue statement. Ok, to say you are having problems but a flat out statement like that as a title is too much.

    artheck should go to the site admin to have the title changed.

    The S2 has a better display for half the price of the Apple product.
     
    niki, TheFlynFool and Leszek Kedziora like this.
  15. Jack Sloper

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ditto, I'm using the 8" version and have no complaints either.. must be a setup issue. Persevere, nothing is so bad you should have to buy an Apple product! ;-)
     
    niki and Leszek Kedziora like this.
  16. Skubacb

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    Using the S2. There is a little bit of an incompatiblity. DJI has NOT done a good job with their driver for Android. DJI has partnered with Apple and has more time and experience with Apple products. There is no problem with Android. I can plug the S2 into any other device and not experience the need to change USB configuration = RNDIS. You may need to do this more than one time before the DJI connects but it WILL connect.

    Baloney on the transfer rates to the Apple products versus the Android product. The display of the S2 and the IPAD is just about the same. The difference is that you will pay twice as much for the Apple product. This is fine if you really want the Apple product. But if all you want is a great 9.7" display there is absolutely NO reason to pay twice as much.

    I bet that in the next few months there will be a DJI update and this minor issue goes away.
     
  17. TheFlynFool

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, thank you, thank you. I signed up just to like your post and thank you. This info was the key to getting a new P3S activated and updated this evening with my S2 9.7.