Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

What are your hopes and dreams for Inspire Ground Station?

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by MadMitch88, Mar 1, 2015.

  1. MadMitch88

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    I'm becoming pessimistic about it because of all the bad press lately -- White House incident, Paris drone incident, etc.

    DJI will likely kowtow to the Feds and release a GS app that has a 250m max. range. They will then release an official press statement saying something like:

    "Now enjoy GPS waypoint flying in your backyard with the Inspire! Hours of fun! No autonomous flights within 10 miles of any airport, national park, or Washington DC".

    :confused:
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  2. William sterling

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    And that will open up a a great opportunity for us to write our own apps and firmware
     
    Thgstang likes this.
  3. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    I'll blow a gasket if they limit range in any application. .
    let's hope the hackers have our backs...
    turbo. .
     
  4. PB30X

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Quite sure there are already software/firmware hacks in use!!
     
  5. MadMitch88

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    They already limited the max. range in the Phantom GS app --- why wouldn't they do the same for the Inspire?
     
  6. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    God bless the hackers..
    Is this something new since the white house fiasco?
     
  7. MadMitch88

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Phantom's Ground Station has 200m altitude limit and 500m distance limit since Day 1 of it's official release.
     
  8. William sterling

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine doesn't
     
  9. MadMitch88

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Yours does if it's the offical GS from DJI --- but sounds like you have the ILoveCoffee app
     
  10. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    Not hit a limit distance wise in the PC Ground Station. Each leg of a grid survey has been 1km for me.
     
  11. PetePerrim

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Sorry Mitch, you're just wrong on this one. I have plenty of videos on YT, including a couple of popular tutorial videos on using GS for the Phantom and there is no such thing as the maximum altitude or range limit. As a matter of fact, most of my GS flights are over 2000 - 3000 metres from take off point.