Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

What does I1 do with no GPS and lost RC contact?

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by highground, Aug 25, 2015.

Tags:
  1. highground

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Can't find it in the manual. What does she do when there is no GPS, therefore no home point, and then loses contact with the controller? Land?
     
  2. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    Yeah go flat then descend, it will obviously drift with the wind.
     
    highground likes this.
  3. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    Why would it not have GPS? When the I1 loses signal from the RC is will take the set Loss of RC Signal action - either RTH or Land (FW 1.3.0.0 and iOS app 2.1.0). I know that both actions works as I have tested both with a working GPS. If the GPS has been disabled, then I strongly suspect that the I1 will land at its current position (regardless of what is below).
     
  4. msinger

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    94
    Right -- the Inspire will land at its current position if the home point has not been marked and/or it's connected to less than 6 satellites.
     
    highground likes this.
  5. Loaderbull

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    West Midlands
    GPS has been known to fail though or not have full lock occasionally? I think the OP was after a worse case type of answer that's all?

    So if you're flying, sudden GPS loss and then RC loss, what happens...I am inclined to agree, a controlled decent using other sensors (Accel, Barometer, VPS etc).
     
    highground and Scotflieger like this.
  6. msinger

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    94
    The descent won't be as controlled as one would want in windy conditions. Depending on the altitude at the time, the Inspire could drift considerably. Again though, this is certainly a worst case scenario. And, it beats it dropping like a rock from the sky.
     
    Loaderbull and Scotflieger like this.
  7. highground

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Thanks you guys. Is there any written confirmation from DJI out there that can confirm this? Yes, I am asking them directly too.

    Yes, this is worst case scenario planning for lost link/GPS behavior in firmware. Required for COAs I'm after.
     
  8. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    I doubt if you will get anything in writing. You could always set up your own test as I did for the RTH of RC loss. Just find a very large playing field and no people.
     
  9. 3dPico

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    Now I see three choices for 'Lost RC signal." RTH, Land or Hover. So IF it has GPS and enough battery and no compass interference, wouldn't Hover be the best choice. I think a poll is in order.
     
  10. AndyC

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Shropshire UK
    I don't think hover would be too good an idea?...... unless at low power it then returned 'home'?.....