Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Whats its worth? Pre NFZ Inspire1

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by bluethundr, Nov 10, 2015.

  1. bluethundr

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    59
    So I happened upon a used inspire 1.. looks to be a very early B version. The leg is broken on it, not badly and is certainly fixable by myself here. It appears that after the leg was broken it was put away and sat. Here is the kicker. I connect it tonight.to the remote and an Ipad with NO internet and the version on it shows NOT A ONE NFZ. Airports, stadiums, etc...all show in the map you can fly in them. NADA on the red circles with the line though them. After I get this fixed I wonder what it would be worth if it NEVER gets updated. I would not get the POI and other "features" but I could use my other one for that.
     
  2. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Impossible as the I1 had NFZ's from day one.

    The tablet likely needs internet connectivity to download the maps and NFZ locations that correspond to the firmware version... supposing both are linked in the first place.
     
    The Editor likes this.
  3. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,718
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    Yup, as Kilrah says, NFZ's have been there from day one (although their location and number has changed)
    Once the Inspire has its GPS fix and the app has its map the NFZ's will populate on the app/map.
     
  4. Machoman

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    69
    You can test it on the PC simulator - avoid to connect the tablet to the Internet when its connected to the RC and Inspire on. Then set coordinates over known NFZ and see if it starts. If it recognizes the NFZ it will also not fly on the simulator.
     
  5. bluethundr

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    59
    Hmm..I do a snap shot of what I'm talking about. I turned on the i1 one with out the internet and also with it just to try it. With no internet the map would not load. With it the map did load and there were no NFZ on that map. Went over the major airports in the Minneapolis and Chicago area. All showed good to fly in. No round red circle with a line. The i1 had 14 satellites at this time. I then went over to the stadiums, green bay area and Chicago. those showed good to fly. I did not check Washington DC though. I will look at it tonight and do a few screen shots. The firmware shows 1.20
     
  6. JayBurd

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    41
    Excuse my ignorance, is there a "PC Simulator" for Inspire? Where can I get it from?

    Machoman has been analyzing the firmware. If the NFZs are embedded in the firmware, would it be possible to "edit" the firmware and remove the "list" of NFZs, assuming of course we can identify any sort of pointer/checksum that needs to be located and updated.
     
  7. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,718
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    No - there is no PC simulator for the Inspire. I'm afraid Machoman's concept of reality and the real world are two completely different places.
    He has not been analysing the firmware code but mearly spending most of his waking hours writing diatribes about the module numbers for the individual hardware items and how DJI is secretly changing things during the hours of darkness and mixing up firmware versions.
    Unfortunately his postings have been less than useful and have served to thoroughly confuse other members.
     
    Fidel Gonzales likes this.
  8. Machoman

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    69
  9. JayBurd

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    41
    @Machoman I am a level 1 developer, when I log in I see Mobile SDK and Onboard SDK. Can you point me to downloading the PC Simulator?
     
  10. Machoman

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    69
    If such things would be so easy anyone having a Sony camera would already use his own firmware to unlock all the features. This will not work and if you change anything and it really starts to update its likely the whole plane gets screwed up and you cannot repair it anymore. I would not try this.

    Instead just use all information available and make the best out of it without trying to change firmware.
     
    mtnmaddman likes this.
  11. Machoman

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    69
    Regarding to 3rd party Apps forums there is a download section where you can get it. Just click around a little. Its probably not allowed to post the link.
     
    mtnmaddman likes this.
  12. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,718
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    So you are pointing people to SDK areas and telling them to download SDK software when they may not be developers or understand what is involved?
    Again, not the brightest move on your part since the area and applications are meant for development not things to play with.
    I could point people to the R&D forums or give out Frank Wang's email but I do not because it would be irresponsible and cause more problems than it would solve.
    You are causing a lot of confusion, complaints and giving bad advice out to individuals (like your insistence that expo or esc firmware causes jello - something that none of our other 12,600 members has reported!)

    It seems to me you are trolling this community - Would you like a ban?
     
  13. Paolo

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    I love you 2 guys always fighting.
    Machoman says and 2 minutes later Editor arrives, shouting and explaining good behaviour.

    Nice, please editor do not ban Machoman, life would be very difficult without either of you.

    Ciao


    Inviato dal mio iPad utilizzando Tapatalk
     
    Lucan, mtnmaddman and crashburn like this.
  14. Brandon Rowe

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    Right, but in the earlier days you could still power up with no internet connectivity and fly in NFZs. Now the system knows whether or not you have an Internet connection.
     
  15. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,718
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    ???....you do not need internet connection to be able to fly.
    In fact, I NEVER have anything connected to the internet when I fly as I have everything switched to airplane mode including my cell phone and anyone around me who might have one on them.
    You only need internet to cache maps.
     
  16. Brandon Rowe

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    You're not listening. What I'm saying is you could trick the inspire by booting without an Internet connection to the iPad. I doing so you could operate within NFZ. I know this because j live in a NFZ and I used to be able to trick the inspire to let me use the simulator in my house. Now the software is aware of NFZ where there or not you have an Internet/data connection.
     
  17. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,718
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    I'm listening but you're not understanding.
    NFZ's are referenced by their GPS location and longitude and latitude not whether your tablet has access to the world wide wonder web.
     
  18. Shazbot4

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    53
    this is totally untrue. there are firmware updates that they released that had zero no fly zones. snatch that quad copter up. put your tablet in airplane mode and have fun
     
    Brandon Rowe likes this.
  19. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,718
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    Ahhhh.... I see you are in troll mode today.
     
  20. Shazbot4

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    53
    i see your in "im a certified r/c pilot, everything i say is true" mode which is like saying your a manager at a burger king and you know how the hadron cern collider works.
     
    Gary E likes this.