Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Which iPad do you need?

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by jonathanivy, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. jonathanivy

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Does the iPad need GPS or will the Wifi only option be ok? Wouldn't you need GPS on the tablet for the Dynamic Home Point to work?
     
  2. jonathanivy

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ok so I just answered my own question by reading the User Manual. You need a GPS enabled device for the Dynamic Home Point.

    "2.7 Dynamic Home Point
    Dynamic home point is useful in situations when you are in motion and require a Home point that is different from the
    takeoff point. Dynamic home point is only available to the GPS-enabled mobile device. Turn on GPS and data service
    to obtain higher accuracy of the mobile device position. The Home point will be reset to position of the mobile device at specific time intervals. Select Dynamic Home Point from the “Camera” page in DJI Pilot App. "
     
  3. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    iPad 2? Is that the best option? Or a Samsung Galaxy note 10.1? More decisions. :)
     
  4. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    I bought ipad air2 without cellular, announced wifi, thought to use it inspire1
     
  5. Adam

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    According to a DJI rep, the transmitter has its own GPS, eliminating the need for a GPS enabled tablet.

    "There is a gps unit in the tx. That allows for dynamic home point that is device independent. Good for me as my iPad mini has no cellular service, only wifi."

    This does seem to conflict with info in the manual.

    I believe you need at least an A7 processor on the iOS device. I had an iPad 3 but that would not work. I now have an Air 2.
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  6. BaldEagle

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    So I guess that means that the GPS data from the transmitter is transmitted to the Inspire. What unit would receive the data on the bird? Is it the GPS unit in the bird or is it more likely the NAV unit?
     
  7. Adam

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    The GPS data is transmitted from the transmitter to the flight controller in the Inspire 1. This tells the flight controller where the transmitter is, thereby giving the Inspire a new home point to to return to when the transmitter moves. This is called Dynamic Home Point.
     
  8. Intrepid

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    I could be wrong, but I believe you need cellular connection to obtain the map display?
     
  9. jonathanivy

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Also note to everyone, if you are buying an iPad mini, the only difference from the mini 2 to the mini 3 is the new "Touch ID" finger print scanner, not sure if that is worth $100. Just FYI


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. BaldEagle

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Adam - do you know how frequently the flight controller is updated by the transmitter? Is it every few seconds? Is the power and range of that transmission similar to the signal? Is it embedded into the control signal?
     
  11. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    GUerneville Ca.
    Every two seconds and yes it is embedded from what i heard.
    I am going from memory...and mine sucks tbough. Lol.
     
  12. Adam

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Everything goes over the same signal - it's like the Lightbridge - a 2.4Ghz connection that has data, control, and video all packaged together.
     
  13. Adam

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You just need to cache the maps before you leave your house - you can download the maps from a particular area where you are going to fly at home over WiFi before you go out to fly.
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  14. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    GUerneville Ca.
    Since i will likely have to get two controllers i was considering using my sony tablet for one and maybe using my i phone for now for the other or my sumsung..but it sucks in bright light.
    i wish i could use my macbook pro..it has wifi..but i think they need to have the app installed..so i need an android etc.
    I wonder if you could use a laptop for the second for camera control?
     
  15. jonathanivy

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    So I just want to rehash this, does the iPad need to have GPS or does the controller have it embedded?
     
  16. Adam

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    The transmitter has GPS embedded.
     
    jonathanivy likes this.