Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Windows 10....

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by lrwskyfilms, Aug 4, 2015.

  1. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Anyone bothered updating yet? Results/thoughts?

    Thx for any help, Mark
     
  2. AndrewH

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    25
    No not yet, I was going to do it last night but I've spent ages getting my windows 7 machine set up just the way I want it and made sure all my photoshop and light room plugins ect work. I just have a horrible feeling that 10 is going to mess it all up again and I'll have to start over. I'd rather all my spare time gors into my i1 now and not into trouble shooting a windows setup!
     
  3. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    My thinking exactly, and there seems there are some bad experiences with updating. Where have I heard that before. :rolleyes::)
     
    AndrewH likes this.
  4. Kauaigene

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    96
    Why does this belong on this forum?
     
  5. Kauaigene

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    96
    Oh I get it. Pilots Lounge. So let's talk politics....NOT,
     
  6. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Sorry I read the headline "Friendly Off-Topic Conversations" and I wasn't talking politics just Win 10 and updating/updates in general. Thank you for your input.
     
  7. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Yes, I have updated to Windows 10 and I like it, I only had to update my Acronis back up software to the latest version and I was warned that I would need to do that before I upgraded.
    No problems so far and it does appear to be faster specially starting up and shutting down.
    Of course, I did make an Acronis backup of my Windows 7 system onto an external drive, so I can always boot up with the Acronis system disk and restore from the backup.
    I don't see myself doing that any time soon though..
     
    AndrewH likes this.
  8. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Good news thank you, I'll update when I can. Never heard of Acronis, looks an excellent product, thx for sharing.
     
  9. Loaderbull

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Same here, 8.1 to Windows 10 without a hitch. Already had latest Acronis, made a backup and updated fine. All of my Adobe Suites work, along with my Cyberlink Power Director video editing software. It is slightly faster than 8.1, which in turn is slightly faster than 7.
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  10. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Thanks that's excellent to know I use Adobe as well, went to upload my data to the Acronis cloud and it said time remaining 43 days 19hrs LOL. So I've backed-up onto a separate hard drive and now will update to Win 10.

    Thx to all.
     
  11. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Well updated to Win 10, fairly painless and no errors yet. Thx again.
     
    AndrewH likes this.
  12. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Jeez....I've been waitin....still no update for me yet :( I actually really like windows 8 and I was told I would love win10.
     
  13. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    I think you will, what impressed me the most was that not only were all the desktop icons put back, but also in the right place. No swipe from the left or loads of tiles on other pages. Click the windows button bottom left like the old days, and you can scroll through the tiles, a bit like a windows phone.

    The only hiccup so far is that a new IE browser has been added, wiping out the old one along with it my few bookmarks.
     
  14. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You can import your old IE bookmarks into the new Edge Browser
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  15. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    I thank you! That was easy, a quick search, and a few clicks. Excellent. Cheers :)
     
    Aviator likes this.
  16. MainlyPro

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    SE Arizona, USA
    We've updated 6/7 of our stations to Windows 10 so far. Our old XP machines have had some graphics problems with it, but anything built for Windows 7 and up runs smooth. The last one to be updated is our main editing station. Waiting for a gap between projects.
     
  17. SultanGris

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    238
    really? i hate windows 8, love windows 7 though, heard the start button menu is back in windows 10, hooray! semi excited to try it, gonna have to try the acronis backup just in case i dont like it, thanks for the tip!
     
  18. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Well I'm diving in....my update arrived.

    grrrr...the start button never left, people just couldn't deal with change. In fact it was never really all that different either.
     
  19. SultanGris

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    238
    i have windows 7 on my desktop and windows 8 on a laptop which i dont use often, so i guess i never really learned win 8 that well but i had a heck of a time finding programs and the locations of the file i just scanned, maybe theres settings that can be changed to make it more like 7 but in my opinion win 8 was vastly different and i didnt care for it one bit. even finding the control panel and settings took me while at first, it was maddening i tell you, made me feel like a computer noob! I hate the tile style "start menu screen". Give me a nice compact menu list view like win 7 any day, i dont wanna scroll sideways for a mile through large sized tile icons to find the program im looking for. Im not a fan of touchscreen gimmickry on a larger screen. Its much faster and easier to use with a standard mouse and keyboard. typing on large touchscreen keyboards is cumbersome and far too slow for me. Swype on my samsung galaxy note 4 is about as large of a screen as i wanna get for typing more than a short sentence on a touchscreen, lol.
     
    skylabimaging likes this.
  20. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    You sound like my Dad, lol.