Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

X5 always slightly out of focus

Reaction score
Hi all,

I wanted to see if you had any ideas as there a lot of you that know substantially more that me on this site. I am an above average pilot and have been flying fixed wing rotor, and multi rotor for many years. The filming part is newer and I am slowly getting better and better at that part.

One Issue I seem to keep having is that when using the X5 camera, my video is almost always slightly out of focus using the M.Zuk 12mm lens. I have let it auto focus. I have manually set it to infinity. I still get this crummy focus.

If I use the X3, its perfect. X5 there is an issue most of the time.

I do use polar pro filters so could they cause this? I have bought a X5 Raw so I will have that in the next few days to see if its the camera itself. I also bought a 15mm and zoom lens to see it that is the issue. I am just lost. What the heck am I doing wrong. This is an I1. I have uploaded a trimmed but not retouched file from today to show what I mean, Any help would be great.

Thanks,
Ryan

I have done the calibration butbit always used one of a few filters.. It sunny here so a filter is almost always a must. I may try a new set to see if they are causing it.

I'll do that. I believe I have always had a filter. I'll see what lens only does.

Hi all,
I have let it auto focus.

Hi Ryan,

That level of out of focus is not your filters. Auto focus is an active process. It will not occur without you tapping for focus and it does not continuously focus during shooting (mentioned because that is not clearly defined and causes a lot of early confusion). When you tap a focus point in auto are you getting correct focus on your device?