Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

X5 on a different copter

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by MotionManager, Sep 13, 2015.

  1. MotionManager

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone know if and how I could use X5 on a different copter than the inspire?

    X5 is exactly what I have been looking for - but I need a hexa or octo to be allowed to fly in Austria...

    At the moment I have a Rosewhite Jordana built as X8 + DJI A2 FC.

    Thank you Chris
     
  2. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    The mount can only talk to the n1 flight controller for the time being, there was a guy on here that was trying to figure out the pin layout but hasn't come up with anything yet.
     
  3. MotionManager

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you for the fast awnser! I just asked DJI and got the same awnser!
    If anybody finds a workaround please let me know!

    Thank you Chris
     
  4. InterMurph

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    228
    I think the workaround is: wait for DJI to bring the Inspire's flight, video, camera, and gimbal systems to the S800/S900/S1000 range. It seems inevitable at this point.
     
    Rainbowers likes this.
  5. MotionManager

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    i´ve heard that maybe lightbridge 2 will be able to control the X5...
     
  6. skylabimaging

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    From what I gather...the n1 will only work with quad platforms

    inspire already has that lightbridge tech
     
    Rainbowers likes this.
  7. Rainbowers

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Qingdao, China
    Today I saw some videos of the Tornado H920 with the GH4, a trustful camera. Footage not to compare with the X5 ! And flying time with 3 batteries > 20 minutes ! Will be hard for DJI to compete Yuneec ! I will call them today for their future updates, seems they are very friendly and excellent customer service.
     
  8. MotionManager

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    The GH4 has some problems compared to the X5:
    - how do you adjust exposure?
    - it´s heavy
    - in fast flights it´s not aerodynamic
    - no raw
     
  9. Rainbowers

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Qingdao, China
    All exposure settings can be done from RC, even zoom with specific lens (all data output from usb port linked with RC)
    Heavy not a problem for H920
    75km/h is fast enough and with 3 batteries > 20 minutes: real time for good exposure and flight tracing.
    Raw is eating too much disk space, a 100Mbps in 4K or 200 in 1080p is OK
    ... and having an extra camera delivered with a 3 axis portable gimbal is not bad.
     
  10. MotionManager

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    do you know how to change exposure on a copter which uses DJI A2 + GH4?
    I have an exellent Copter (Rosewhite Jordana) - but need the ability to change aperture on the GH4!
     
    Rainbowers likes this.
  11. Rainbowers

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Qingdao, China
    I only have the I1, but looking for alternatives with proved quality before spending around USD 5000 to 9000. I do not have a GH4 for real interested to have beside my other video cameras (Sony), it is not a waste of money the H920 combination. Having more as 1km lightbrigde possibility is for me not important. I like to keep an eye on the bird.