Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

X5 on DJI Osmo

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by Tex, Dec 29, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Tex

    Tex

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey to all.

    DJI announced release of special X5/X5R-mount plate for OSMO(provides in stock with X3 camera).

    It's hard not to notice that plates and mounts of X3 and X5 are almost the same as well as lock system.
    I've tried to mount my X5 from Inspire to Osmo. Well, it suits, but lock doesn't work properly(half of the way). Anyway, it seems solid.

    But I didn't turn it on. Little bit scary of possible consequnces))

    So, can you tell me, will it work that way? Didn't find any info in the web. Only DJIs footage of X5R on Osmo.
     
  2. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    See the Osmo forum section. Using the X5 on it precisely requires that adapter that isn't available yet.
     
  3. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    Autofocus works well on osmo with X5. IOS app is better than android app when a user x5 on osmo


    Added my own party. used X5 on OSMO in a few weeks

     
    #3 airdrone, Dec 29, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2015
    damoncooper likes this.
  4. AJW

    AJW

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    8
    At @airdrone ----how'd you do that? Thought the x5 needed an adaptor....
     
  5. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    Autofocus works well on osmo with X5. IOS app is better than android app when a user x5 on osmo
     
  6. Casey Preston

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    30
    I don't think the X5 locks into and makes contact with the pins on the Osmo handle without an adapter. Mine didn't. I think airdrome probably made an adapter the allies the pins to make contact.
     
  7. InterMurph

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    226
    When airdrone said, "added my own party", I think he/she meant "added my own part."
     
  8. AJW

    AJW

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    8
    @InterMurph i think your right, i thought he was having a one man party with his OSMO
     
    Kilrah likes this.
  9. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    sorry my English! I just modified my osmo so that it fits the X5 and X3. It is very easy to do. I did this because I did not bother to wait for adapter plate of DJI.

    X5 is fantastic on Osmo. But slightly shorter battery life. But I will order adapter plate when it arrives. But incredibly fun to test the X5. NB My Osmo is the last batch from DJI. Ordered Osmo without Gimbal.
     
    #9 airdrone, Dec 31, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2015
  10. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Any chance you could show a few pics of the adapter you made? Was it hard to build?
     
  11. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    No, Easy to make. loos aluminum top. Cut the approximately 2-3mm with sandpaper rough. sandpaper P120
    Screenshot_2016-01-02-09-47-22.png Screenshot_2016-01-02-09-46-58.png
     
    damoncooper likes this.
  12. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
  13. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  14. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    I loosened the screws and drop it down itself. have nothing to say for functionality. I am satisfied so that I can use both X3 and X5 on my OSMO
     
  15. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    728
    What "bits"? All he did was grind down the top 2mm or so of the existing ring.
     
  16. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Gotcha. I couldn't tell if it was a sandwiched connector plate or not.

    Thx!
     
  17. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    just unscrew 4 screws, then the aluminum plate loose
     
    #17 airdrone, Jan 2, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2016
    damoncooper likes this.
  18. Casey Preston

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    30
    Airdrone, nice job on making it work. I am actually surprised that it functions. I have to assume that the X3 and X5 function using the same OS. Do you have AF and focusing?

    I've been assuming that the adapter will be a bit more complicated and the center the weight directly over the handle and have a clip for the back of the X5 mount as is found on the Inspire.
     
  19. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    yes. it works with AF / MF. it seems in app.
     
    damoncooper likes this.
  20. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Thanks for posting