Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Zenmuse X5 Ribbon Cable Major Problem Area

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by herein2015, Oct 14, 2015.

  1. herein2015

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    13
    Got my Inspire 1 Pro today and before even getting off of the ground I found a major problem area with the ribbon cable. DJI left the ribbon cable exposed where it runs from the camera to the mount, and it was already getting damaged the first time I placed the X5 back in its case.

    Fortunately I caught it and I plan on wrapping it with electrical tape, but I wanted to warn other owners before they need to repair the ribbon cable for their new $2K camera.

    Check the attached picture to see where the case had wrinkled the ribbon cable just by placing it back inside the case.
     

    Attached Files:

    Dexter Harvey and Joola like this.
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,717
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    Cut the foam back slightly with a craft knife AND wrap the exposed cable.
     
  3. herein2015

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    13
    I did both already. It seems like DJI still makes paper thin ribbon cables and leaves them exposed no matter what the cost of the camera. It would have cost them pennies to cover the few mm of exposed cable.
     
    berns likes this.
  4. tweaker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    76
    Magic

    top forum. Thats why I love blokes on here are all over it

    Many thanks
     
  5. berns

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great information. I will watch and change when I get my X5 the next days, hopefully...
     
  6. RCGeeks

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    13
    Noticed this on mine, good idea to either trim the foam or wrap the cable (or both!).
     
  7. InterMurph

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    227
    I didn't notice this at first. I just looked, and there is a little divot in my foam where the cable was rubbing against it!

    I have removed the foam and taped the cable. Thanks!!!
     
  8. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    Taped the cable. thanks for the heads up.
     
  9. Elvisp2016

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    The camera cables for all DJI products are deliberately designed to break if you look at them wrong.This is a huge source of revenue for DJI - probably more profitable than selling the original quads. The crooks in Customer Service in British Columbia claimed they couldn't replace the cable in my Phantom 2 Vision +, but they COULD sell me a new camera for $900. The cables are available on Ebay.com for $12 U.S. There are also youtube videos on 'How To'.
     
    slim.slamma likes this.
  10. Haakon

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    Newer X5 camera cases have the foam cut differently to allow more room in this area.
     
  11. Webeflyin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately found out about this issue to late! But thanks for posting and help me diagnose my issue. The green light on the gimbal turns out but no gimbal motor engagement and it comes up as disconnected in the app. I can see the wear marks on the cable. Does this seem like the same cable you are talking about? Seems expensive.

    http://m.ebay.com/itm/DJI-Zenmuse-X...Replacement-Part-Inspire-1-M600-/272343033533
     
  12. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    After inspecting my Inspire 1 and X5 camera following a particular heavy landing I noticed some distortion of the main ribbon cable linking the X5 gimbal to the aircraft connector. After scratching my head as to the cause I discovered that it was the hard form in the storage case that was to blame. I have used a sharp knife to remove a small piece of foam. I have applied some insulation tape and successfully tested the camera in flight.

    X5 owners may wish to check for similar damage.

    Crease in ribbon cable (note also rust on screw heads).

    PB100099a.jpg

    Visible wires within lifted ribbon cable

    PB100106a.jpg

    Ribbon cable in modified case

    PB100111a.jpg

    Damaged ribbon cable and piece of foam removed

    PB100108a.jpg

    Portion of foam removed

    PB100107a.jpg
     
    John Alan likes this.
  13. John Alan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Central IL - USA
    Hmmm... interesting... o_O
    Thanks for the good pics and the heads up ... :cool:
     
  14. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,717
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    Old news Andrew. :p

    See my post number 2 here.
    Zenmuse X5 Ribbon Cable Major Problem Area
     
  15. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    Thank you @The Editor. I did do a search before posting. Honest!! My photos are much better!!!
     
  16. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,717
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    Thats true....

    Tell you what, I'll merge the threads and that way it will make the thread live and people will get the benefit of your beautiful pics. :D
     
    Scotflieger and John Alan like this.
  17. Eric

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    San Jose
    Looks like I missed both the op and the new post, thanks for the pictures, exactly like my ribbon cable... only too late for my limp camera. Argh :-(. I tried everything, first looking at the cables connecting from bird to dampening plate, then on my Osmo (shoulda started there) and also shoulda checked that an X3 works too (it does). X5 remains limp. At least I wasn't on a payed shoot.
     
  18. Highrpm955

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    223
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA,USA
    So, whats the quick preventative fix? Electrical tape? or is something better to use?
     
  19. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    Yes. Electrical tape around the gimbal arm will buy some protection, but a quick modification of the foam in the box (as per my photos) will prevent the damage in the first place,

    I am experiencing problems setting the aperture in manual mode and am about to return my X5 for repair.
     
    Cruncher likes this.
  20. Highrpm955

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    223
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA,USA
    My case does not have that notch to rub the cable, but you never can tell what it might get hung up on ya know? Hope you get yours sorted!