Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Battery Charging options

Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been waiting to see if there is news on either people making modifications for charging batteries or for DJI to offer a better option for charging other than the stock method.

As with the Inspire 1, the stock charger for the Inspire 2 takes waaaaaaay too long for me. It is annoying because it forces me to plan ahead for flights as opposed to being able to go at a moments notice when I have some free time. It isn't good for the batteries to leave them fully charged so I only charge them when I'm going to fly.

This was not an issue with the Inspire 1. The two terminal connection is obviously easy to provide power to and charge. Not so much with the new batteries that have all of those extra contacts. I'm an old hobbyist and don't like all of these new batteries with the charging circuitry built into the battery. I would much prefer having the circuitry in my charger and allow me the ability to charge and care for my batteries my own way - but DJI makes the smart batteries and such is the way things go.

I tried plugging my power supply to a step-up voltage and amp regulator to the charging hub. This is the same thing I did with the Inspire 1 batteries (minus the charging hub). Worked like a charm. Not so much with the Inspire 2 charging hub. Anything past the stock 6.9 amps and it would shut off. Annoying. I see that DJI built in circuitry into the charging hub as well. Probably best this way considering those barrel connectors that DJI is using for the charging hub can't handle a lot of current anyway.