Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Battery Charging Topic

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Outta Control, Apr 3, 2015.

  1. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
  2. Jason Mezinko

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Indeed. I'm very curious how Bob will setup his charge station. You wouldn't happen to have the link to his post on RCG would you? Having a bit of trouble finding.
    Thanks
     
  3. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    I want to know the power source he is purchasing. The detailed electronics make sense, but then I'm not an electrical engineer!!
     
  4. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    How did you find out this was the supply he will use? I wonder how many batteries you can charge with this unit. Sure would like to see a prototype and know it is safe to use!

    I really wish someone would come up with a unit that can charge several batteries, both flight controllers and both IPads simultaneously. You end up with a nightmare of wires to charge all this stuff!

    While I can wire electrical for houses or switches and panels for 440 3 phase, electronics like this I am lost. I'm glad there are folks that are in the know!
     
  5. Jason Mezinko

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    tuxevil likes this.
  6. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
  7. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    Looks good, but I wonder how hot it gets! I need to read the specs and seem what amp load it can take. Wish there was something to charge both IPads, controllers and batteries all at once! Oh I also have the Cinemizer goggles!

    I wonder if they ship to the states!?
     
  8. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    It is made in the states... see the first link.
     
  9. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    I need to see some specs to make sure it will do all it says. the batteries aren't cheap and I would hate to ruin several!
     
  10. InspiredOne

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    I followed that thread. A says this, B says that and C says something else. :confused:

    I'm going to play it safe and use the DJI power supply for the DJI batteries. Seems to me the most prudent thing to do, on many levels.

    EDIT: In the description of the "SmartPower Charger" it says: "Set em in, turn it ON and forget it!" That doesn't strike me as being too smart, based on what I've read.
     
    #11 InspiredOne, Apr 6, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2015
  11. Mazz

    Mazz Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    585
    Location:
    NY
    Especially since this thing looks so big. I have three chargers and they take up half the space, weight 1/4 as much, and cost the same thing.
     
  12. InspiredOne

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
  13. huppe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    317
    Yeap i followed this too.Bob has ended this thread,so no more info about this.
     
  14. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
  15. Daniel Mascheck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    35
    Reading Bob's thread, the amp rating is the key. The low amperage rating of the BJI unit is barely adequate. If I can get the company to send back the stats, it will help me decide.

    I was told it has ports for my two IPads and both controllers. Sure would make it simple to have one devic do all!