Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Compass calibration with or without camera

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by flyingclint, Mar 25, 2015.

  1. flyingclint

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Cypress, Texas
    So I was wondering do you guys calibrate the compass first before putting the camera on, then shut down, attach camera, then reboot? I just hate every time I'm calibrating with the camera on, that the gimbal hits it's stops and it seems to me that it would put a lot of stress on the motors in the gimbal and perhaps cause level issues with the gimbal??? What are yalls thoughts???
     
  2. Tahoejmfc

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    46
    With camera on, ready to fly
     
  3. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    With. The camera is a disturbance that needs to be accounted for in the calibration.
     
    Jetwash likes this.
  4. amkorp

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Toronto, ON / Buffalo, NY
    I was just wondering how often you guys are calibrating your compass? Unless the pilot app says otherwise, compass calibration shouldn't have to be done too often, right?
     
  5. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    It's recommended that you should do a calibration every time you change flying location.
     
  6. White Airwolf

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    70
    You should do a calibration every time you fly. Better to be safe than sorry. Only takes a minute.
     
  7. Airwolf13

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Hollywood
    Not ture. There are many posts here and on the DJI Forum site that suggest that constant re-claibration of the compass is un-necessary (unless you have significantly changed location..as in MILES) and that in fact the constant re-calibration can do more harm then good.
     
  8. White Airwolf

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    70
    Never heard that before. Never heard anything about doing more harm than good. Even DJI suggests doing it every flight.
    In any case, I'd rather take my chances with a calibration everytime as opposed to possibly having a fly away every time.

    Take your pick!
     
  9. amkorp

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Toronto, ON / Buffalo, NY
    Where does DJI say it should be done every time you fly?

    I was also under the impression you only need to recalibrate if you've moved significantly in terms of geographical location or if the Pilot app says that the compass needs calibration.

    Seems counter intuitive to have the compass status shown in the app if its required/recommended to be calibrated each time you fly.
     
  10. DaBone

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Sweden
    When I was about to get a flyaway with my Phantom 2 (second start/same location), I started to calibrate every time I fly / replacing the battery.
    Have not had one incident after I started with it.
    Think I will continue with this, with INSPIRE 1 too.
     
  11. CaptainBadge

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    240
    I calibrate very time I fly. The one time I did not I had major control issues and almost lost it in the water. I had launched from a boat and was having a hard time calibrating so I gave up.

    Clint- I admit I have never tried, but how would you calibrate without the camera on? Without the camera connected I get a 'Disconnected' signal on the app. Is it possible to calibrate without the app?
     
  12. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,721
    Likes Received:
    3,875
    Same as the Phantom..... Just toggle the flight control switch quickly 5 or 6 times. Inspire will then go into compass calibration mode with no need for tablet or camera connected.
     
    eldorado and CaptainBadge like this.
  13. CaptainBadge

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    240
    Well there you go!
     
  14. flyingclint

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Cypress, Texas
    Yes, even though it shows "disconnected" you still have full access to your function and controls of the I1 itself. I just go to the GPS menu, then select compass calibration. I did it last night for a night flight/photo session shoot (thread about that coming soon) without the camera attached at first, then powered down, attached camera and powered back up. All was great and I guess i just felt better about flipping the bird around all over the place during the compass cal. and not worrying about the gimbal smacking all around and hitting it's stops in the process...!
     
    zoltanh and CaptainBadge like this.