Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Correct response to flight software freezing?

Reaction score
Various people have reported loss of flight control due to flight software freezes in both DJI and Litchi software.

Some people have tried to reset the software (shutdown and reboot DJI Go or Litchi while aircraft hovers), but then report that the aircraft does not 'return to home (original takeoff location)' due to the reset, and is still not controllable, and lands in its current position (which could be over water, or wherever).

Is there a known fail-safe protocol for recovery, which would allow the operator to regain control without use of the flight software (i.e. sticks only)?

I am new to DJI software, and have just purchased the I2/X5s and will control it with a cell/GPS-enabled iPad Pro. I'm wondering if the iPad GPS can remain integrated with connection loss (i.e. I2 will 'follow me' for return to home), or failing that, be made controllable via sticks-only?

would like to know how actually the I2 will behave if the Go apps freeze or crashed during flight? will it stop and hover in the position, will it RTH immediately (suppose the I2 will store the home point or GPS data for emergency use) or just land immediately?

would like to know how actually the I2 will behave if the Go apps freeze or crashed during flight? will it stop and hover in the position, will it RTH immediately (suppose the I2 will store the home point or GPS data for emergency use) or just land immediately?

The app is not needed to fly. You can start the I2, take off and land without ever turning the app on. If the app crashes inflight as long as you have line of sight you can easily fly it back to where ever you want it to go.

The app is not needed to fly. You can start the I2, take off and land without ever turning the app on. If the app crashes inflight as long as you have line of sight you can easily fly it back to where ever you want it to go.