Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Does the RC has a fan inside???

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Dacon Productions, Mar 25, 2016.

  1. Dacon Productions

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    I have an RC type C for Inspire 1 Pro and sometimes inside sounds like there is a cooling fan...As I move the RC the sound/pitch changes like on a small fan. Any idea what makes the sound? Also is not there all the time, looks like is there to cool off the amp?
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Yes - there is a thermostatically controlled fan internally.
     
    Mazz likes this.
  3. Dacon Productions

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    My other RC from Phantom 3 Pro never does that...Is the fan in the Inspire models only?
     
  4. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    I don't have a P3 remote to test so can't answer that one I'm afraid. Maybe the addition of HDMI out warms things up too much so one is needed in the Inspire RC only.
     
  5. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    160
    Yes the P3 and P4 Gl00 series does as well

    Virtually identical internals apart from no 5.8 module and GPS module

    Same PCB though.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. Dacon Productions

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    What GPS module?
    Is a GPS module inside the RC for Inspire model GL658C?
     
  7. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    160
    All inspire controllers have a GPS module for the TX home point feature, it just don't work very well, too small and is shielded by the tablet
     
  8. Dacon Productions

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    Learning something new...Does the P3P RC also have a GPS inside?
    I have a P3P and Inspire 1 Pro (that will not fly for a long time) and since my P3P RC was falling apart, I have paired the RC from Inspire to the P3P last night, downloaded the generic, checked HDMI, and the noise started (fan) that never heard in the P3P RC.
    If the I1 RC has a GPS built inside, can it be used to "follow me" without the need of the GPS in the iPad Mini 2/W-Fi or external GPS module?
     
  9. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    No - the P3 remote does not have a GPS receiver inside (nor does it have a 5.8ghz unit since two person operation is not an option on the P3 so communication between two remotes is not necessary)