Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Dreaded Continous Beep Firmware Failure

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by Inspired Guy, Dec 9, 2015.

  1. Inspired Guy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    i just purchased a new Inspire 1 (version 1) from BH camera. It must have been sitting on a shelf for awhile because it came with firmware version 1.2.01. Of course the first thing out of the box I had to learn the firmware process. As mentioned on this site I attempted to upgrade to the 1.3 version before moving on to 1.4.

    I downloaded the 1.3 firmware from DJI site, extracted the bin file and loaded the exact same file on a USB thumb drive and eventually (2 different) micro SD cards. The RC took the upgrade perfectly. As per DJI video I attempted the aircraft upgrades with the RC off. When I power up the aircraft with the same bin file I used for the RC it begins to upgrade normally (making the correct 4 beeps) but after about 10 minutes the beep switches to a Continous sound.

    When I pull out the card the text file says re-co disconnected, upgrade failed. Reboot and try again. I have switched cards, deleted the failure text files and repeated the reboot for several hours with no success. Same result everytime. Any help would be SO appreciated.

    At this point it is a $3000 paperweight. Pondering my options?

    Thanks

    Not an Inspired Guy
     
  2. 3dPico

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    I had the same experience last night, and opened a ticket: here is my note to support:

    "I have an Inspire 1, very new. Upgraded to v1.5 released today or recently. Did from SD card, waited for all clear and read txt file. Seemed clear. Put in second battery for battery upgrade just to be sure. Now it's not responsive on start and restart and only issues three annoying long beeps repeatedly. I tried with original battery and same beeps.

    Tried with iOS app and it went all to hell; bad reports and even an app crash.
    So original battery, same SD card with just .bin file, and no bueno. I've about to try to throw the v1.4 on the SD card to see if that can or will roll it back. But thought better to call you. And did I mention I have a shoot this week?

    I wouldn't normally upgrade before a shoot, but am wanting to keep current with firmware in case I can't fly because the app locks me out."​

    This morning I got back this:

    "Please try to upgrade the inspire 1 again by following:
    1).format SD card by APP
    2).waiting for 25 mins when upgraded
    3).share us a log file after upgrad by following these steps:

    1. Enable the option of viewing hidden files in your OS. Below are the websites where you can check how to show the hidden files in your PC.
    For The Windowns System:
    Show hidden files - Windows Help
    For The Mac System:
    Quickly Show/Hide Hidden Files on Mac OS X Mavericks & Yosemite | Ian Lunn - Web Designer & Front-end Developer
    2.Enter the root directory of the SD card, then find the hidden folder MISC and enter it. There is LOG folder in it.
    3.Send the LOG txt file to us under the LOG folder.

    It's ok to download the inspire to 1.4.0."​

    Now I am an above average tech guy and admittedly new to the UAV world, but I have no idea what "format SD card by APP" unless that is suggesting I TRY and use the app to format the SD card while it's in the Inspire 1. And I'm assuming he is skipping some step for the upgrade to get initiated again (maybe via the APP); but last night I recall the APP was wigging out on me with all kinds of errors I have never seen and a crash to boot (iOS). If I don't see anything while I'm at work today to solve this, I guess I will try that again this evening then see if I can downgrade (which I'm not certain how but probably can figure out by searching this forum).

    Steve
     
  3. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Please verify that there are no bent pins in the socket of the gimbal connection on aircraft. A solid red tail LED and solid steady beep could indicate this.
    If all pins appear to be ok, then try to re format SD card in the fat 32 file system and reload only the bin file and try again. Good luck..
     
    #3 Blue Bird, Dec 9, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2015
  4. Inspired Guy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the feedback guys. I contacted B&H this afternoon and they had me call their DJI rep. He suggested I try to bypass the 1.3 firmware and try upgrading to 1.4 or 1.5.

    After many tries, Unfortunately this did not work either. The "about screen" in the App on my tablet indicated that the Camera & Remote Control both successfully upgraded to 1.5 but the aircraft was still @ 1.2

    Fortunately B&H has an awesome return policy. After the roller coaster ride with the firmware upgrade I'm glad I bought from them.
     
  5. Davies 1

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth< Australia
    I upgraded my firmware last night:

    Continuous beep, battery over heating etc.

    But when i switched off and restarted everything had been updated with no problem... So i thought.

    Upgraded the controller and from what i can see the batteries have also been upgraded.. Going into settings everything is now up to date.

    Took it for a spin this morning and pixelated lagging footage. Ive noticed a little lag before but nothing like this.. This is both live display and playback.. Its not a device issue as iv played back vids many a time with no problem,. Basically the lag in the live display was also recorded.
     
  6. 3dPico

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    Update a day later:

    So last night I threw a formatted (FAT32) from a computer) card with v1.4 into Inspire and turned on; still continuous beep. But while I was fumbling with the APP to find format card command, the beeping stopped and all seemed normal-ish. Connected the APP and status indicated all three need upgrading, which in my mind was progress. But the app didn't have a clickable button to upgrade. So I stopped messing with it.

    This morning I did get a DJI message about my question:
    "format SD card by APP
    ---Choose the Menu-Setting-Format SD card on camera page.Please make sure that aircraft and rc are turned on."
    Tonight I may try a few more things like:
    - try again with card and v1.5 or
    - I recall the body has a USB port for upgrading and I may try that
    I'll post my results.
     
  7. Inspired Guy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    THANKS FOR THE FEEDBACK. This forum is a great place to learn and share experiences. I attempted 2 more times today to upgrade my Inspire before sending it back. Thought I would try a call to DJI support in LA for anything I might have missed. Surprising I was able to get through right away being #2 caller In the wait list.

    This tech said to format the sd card on my computer in a EXFAT format. This was different from what I had been reading. Most people say Fat32. It didn't make a difference anyway as it still wouldn't take the upgrade. I also tried formatting my SD card with the APP to no avail.

    Finally gave up after about 10hrs of trying everything I could possibly think of. It's now on its way back to B&H. They agreed it was defective and are paying the return shipping. They are an incredible stand up company.

    At this point I am considering buying the new Inspire 1 v2. At least it will have the 1.5 firmware already loaded.
     
    3dPico likes this.
  8. 3dPico

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
  9. 3dPico

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes, that was the problem. I probably used a SD card that was formatted FAT32 instead of exFAT. To learn from my mistake; I recommend formatting any card with the DJI Go app with the card in the camera. Then copying the .bin file onto the card from your computer.