Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

ESC Status Error

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Floppy01, Feb 22, 2015.

  1. Floppy01

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone seen "ESC Status Error" when trying to start the motors. It says to shut the craft down and try again. When I do that it says the same thing over and over
     
  2. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA.
    Failed ESC.. Anything happen to the craft?
     
  3. Floppy01

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    No. It happened after a flight when I went to go fly again.
     
  4. marsmock

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Gulf Shores, Alabama
    I have the same error. I flew it outside twice with no problems. I then took it inside a warehouse for an indoor flight and then the ESC code error. Contacted my dealer and they informed me that DJI has pulled all repair authorizations from all dealers in US? So I have to send it to DJI in California of which will take 6 to 8 weeks? I don't have that kind of time to be down. Anyone else having this problem?
     
  5. Javier Jara

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem with my Phantom 3 Professional, Esc status error... Not to do ... I urge your help ... Thanks.
     
  6. Javier Jara

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Somebody knows something Esc error status DJI Phantom 3 Professional?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Just follow the prompts ..
    if it keeps giving you the esc status error then you'll need to send it in..
    otherwise you may have a in flight failure resulting in a crash..
    turbo. ...
     
  8. Javier Jara

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Instructions not what you mean, and I made:
    Calibrate the Drone, Compass and IMU
    Calibrate the remote control
    Actialice the app from Google Play
    Lit it and off many times

    I take five days trying to fly and nothing.

    I'm sorry but deseperado.

    regards

    Javier
     
  9. Snicko66

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a phantom 3 adv. I had to replace the main board and after updating the firmware I started getting this error. I re-calibrated the IMU's and it still kept coming up. It finally went away when I re-calibrated the remote
     
  10. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I had this problem on my Phantom 3. I put prop guards on it and after a week, i hated them so much I took them off. Trouble is I didn't go back to the same screws and used the longer ones to put the machine together again. This made the props spin tighter and after I read it best to use the original screws, I found the ESC error. It seems the motors or the main board is buggered now. Please take note.
     
  11. jtgolden1s

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dennis,

    I did this same thing to my phantom 3, what was your fix?

    Thanks!
     
  12. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I had to send mine in and they replaced the motherboard etc. I felt like an idiot but many would have done the same thing. Who would have thought not going back to the original screws would damage the machine. I guess only a few of us.
     
  13. jtgolden1s

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response. I bought a couple new motors, I really hope that is all I need to do. I don't understand how it could affect the ESC.
     
  14. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Because the longer screws bind on the motors and this draws too much current through the esc's and blows the FET's
     
  15. jtgolden1s

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so it sounds like the motors i just bought will not fix it.
     
  16. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Depends how much current was drawn through the esc's (and there's no way to know that).
    However, if an esc error is still being thrown up you will need to replace those as well.