Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

External Bluetooth GPS units on IOS

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Mr Phantom, Oct 6, 2015.

  1. Mr Phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    I wanted to connect my old EMTAC Bluetooth GPS module to my iPad mini 2 Wifi, but of course i soon found out that this is not possible and that only a very few external GPS units are compatible with IOS.

    The reason i wanted to connect it is so that i can load maps real time since my iPad doesn't have a built in GPS unit, i.e. cellular.

    So my question is does anybody know which external GPS units works with IOS and which ones works good for my purpose?
    Which one are you using, if there is anybody using this type of setup?
    Thanks.
     
    #1 Mr Phantom, Oct 6, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2015
  2. Mike Mas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Blairsville Georgia
    Just curious why you would need the gps feature.
     
  3. Mr Phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    As i wrote in my previous post, so that i can load maps in real time.

    Or how would i otherwise be able to load maps in real time without a Wifi network nearby, and with an iPad that has no cellular, i.e. no GPS?
     
    #3 Mr Phantom, Oct 6, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2015
  4. msinger

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    94
    You'll need an Internet connection in order to do that. The GPS on your Inspire will be used to pinpoint it's location on the map in the DJI GO app, so you won't need GPS on your mobile device.
     
  5. Mr Phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    I thought the maps need to be updated either with internet connection available or with the GPS unit on the iPad, in those cases when the iPad has a GPS unit built in?

    Or maybe the only way to load the maps are thru internet and not thru the GPS unit on the iPad? In that case this thread was unnecessary.

    But I'm pretty sure there are people using external GPS units with their ipads to turn a Wifi only iPad to a navigator
     
    #5 Mr Phantom, Oct 6, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2015
  6. Mike Mas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Blairsville Georgia
    . . . . .
     
  7. Mr Phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    ??
     
  8. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,705
    Likes Received:
    3,863
    Use your smartphone as a hotspot, link you iPad and connect to the internet that way.
    Cache your maps, flick into airplane mode (on both devices) and you' re good to go.
     
  9. Mr Phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    You are correct, i never thought about the iPhone hotspot function. Thanks.
     
  10. Mike Mas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Blairsville Georgia
    I just had nothing to say lol
     
  11. Mr Phantom

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    25
    But you still wanted to write something in the thread? Okay i see.
     
  12. Mike Mas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Blairsville Georgia
    Fly Safe!