Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

How long do you think these motors will last?

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by sdjackaerial, Mar 3, 2015.

1. sdjackaerial

I know the easy response is "depends on how much you fly". Ok.
    Say I fly no less than twice a week with three batteries worth of flying each time (approx 1 hr).
    Being new to RC aircraft, what am I looking for to see the motors change and give warning? I would hope I could hear a change in the motors before it falls from the sky from a motor failure. I'm assuming it can't fly with three..lol.

2. blade strike

These are brushless motors.. if taken care of they will outlast the craft.

RolandRSA and slim.slamma like this.
  3. sdjackaerial

ok, cool. Can you give any advice on taking care of them? (again--beginner here)

4. PetePerrim

In my experience with flying various types of quads and hex's, the motors will just keep on going as long as they don't get too much dust or grit in them. I've flown several hundred kilometres with my little Phantom and that baby just keeps on truckin. I check the motors relative temperatures against each other every now and again when I land and I also twirl the motors between my fingers to see if any of them feel markedly different to each other but 'touch wood' so far, so good. IMHO you're far more likely to have an ESC go postal on you without any warning than a motor.

5. InspiredOne

ESC stands for...? o_O

EDIT: Is there source where one can find all the abbreviations and their meanings for UAV flying?

6. Kilrah

Motor "electronic speed controller".

7. InspiredOne

I would have never guessed that one.

Thanks!

8. The Editor

The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

The motors will last forever (pretty much) - there are no moving parts in them.