Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

IMU

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by User6895, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. User6895

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do I need to have my camera installed on the inspire 1 when I do a IMU calibration? Is it possible to screw something up when doing this calibration. It seems lately everything I do is f@@@@@ up. Can I damage my drone doing this calibration. I guess what I am saying is "are the instructions fairly straight forward and easy to perform".
    Thanks.....
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    3,891
    There are many threads covering this subject - have a look over the forum and you will find many hints and tips.
    However, you should ensure your Inspire is on a flat level (very level) surface and free from all vibrations. Even people/kids walking around on the floor should be avoided to prevent low level vibrations getting through the to the IMU during calibration.
    Personally, I would have the camera mounted.
    Have the Inspire sit for a half hour or so to totally cool down since a better and faster calibration is achieved from a cold machine.
    Fire up the remote and DJI Go app and then the Inspire.
    As soon as the gimbal has calibrated go straight into the IMU calibration menu and start the calibration.
    Just sit perfectly still and do not move or disturb the Inspire in ANY way (no vibrations on the table etc)
    Allow to run it's full calibration. - job done!
    Once calibrated it is a good idea to check your mod values before every single flight (lots about that on the forum as well)
    At rest gyroscope should be 0.00
    Accelerometer between 0.99-1.02
    Compass between 1400-1600 (this will be fluctuating).

    You do not need to calibrate the IMU again unless you are having issues or the next firmware update or the aircraft has been subject to a sharp physical shock (crash/drop etc).
    Compass calibration does not need to be done each flight either.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. Highrpm955

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA,USA
    Good advise Editor!...I think some people over calibrate the compass... I just check mods before every flight, and if all is in order, its a go.
     
    The Editor likes this.
  4. User6895

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the info, I think I can do this.
     
  5. seanmclean

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    83
    Yep, there are very few times where it is reasonable to do a pre-flight compass calibration. Almost every single flyaway story starts with a compass calibration as part of a mindless preflight.
     
  6. User6895

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Calibrated my IMU today without any problems, took the Inspire out for its first flight and it was AWESOME!!!!!! Thanks for the walk through.
     
    The Editor likes this.
  7. Raymondo

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Bega, NSW, Australia
    Agree with the above, but I have had no problems when calibrating the IMU without the gimbal/camera attached on either my Inspire 1 or my Inspire Pro.
     
  8. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    3,891
    Yeah, it's just force of habit with me - I like to have the full visual feedback of a video feed to confirm everything is working as it should rather than a 'no signal' or disconnected' message that you will have without a camera connected. :)
     
  9. Raymondo

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Bega, NSW, Australia
    Hi Ed. Yes, I usually have the camera attached too. I was just answering in opening post 'do I have to have the camera?'.
     
    The Editor likes this.