Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Lost aperture control on X5 camera.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CapePhoto, Sep 3, 2016.

  1. CapePhoto

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today while I was flying my Inspire 1 with X5 camera, I was unable to change aperture on DJI GO. I was in aperture mode and tried changing into all manual and shutter priority, and nothing worked. It was stuck in F4, but I was able to still change ISO and shutter speed (in manual and shutter priority). I brought the drone down, turned it off and back on, and the problem was resolved. Two more flights were fine.

    Hopefully this doesn't happen again, but I thought I'd post this in case anyone else has seen this and/or has any ideas.

    Anyone seen this happen before? Thanks.
     
  2. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    It happens with everything. Turn it on and off.
     
  3. FlyingPhotosKR

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got the locked camera "aperture problem" after the last dji go update, never before. It is a pain in the but, have to shut all down and restart. Then it works. But is not acceptable if you just took off to capture a brides entrance. And have no camera controls. With about 13 safe minutes of airtime you need to wait till last second to take off and everything needs to work properly everytime. That is why i bought DJI..... please get your ducks in a row ( fix your bugs). Just land and shut down and restart is not acceptable in a professional shoot.
     
  4. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I agree but it does happen sometimes. It needs to be fixed.
     
  5. White Airwolf

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    70
    Again, I have issues with the X5 system. Since the Inspire normally flies at height, why would one need shallow depth of field etc? I think it is just a marketing ploy by DJI for people to buy it.
    Yes, it is more sensitive to light so you can fly an extra half hour at dusk! Big deal. The light conditions would be poor anyway at that hour regardless of camera.
    I'm very happy with my X3 camera and I shoot for television networks all the time and no complaints at all!
     
  6. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    The X5 doesn't get as grainy and you cant swap lenses for zoom etc.